GSG 2007 Election Committee Report 03/14/2007

SUMMARY

Shin-Yi Lin was approved as Chair, Silvia Newell was approved as Parliamentary Secretary, Robert MacGregor was approved as Corresponding Secretary, Alex Ntelekos was approved as Treasurer, Jiayue (Jenny) He was approved as Social Chair, and Marina Paul won the election for Recording Secretary. There were no candidates for Press Secretary. There were no irregularities in the election.

FULL REPORT

Membership of the Election Committee:

Until February 14th, Jeff Dwoskin served as acting chair of the election committee. At the Assembly meeting on February 14th, the following four people were approved as members of the election committee: Jeff Dwoskin (as chair), Gautam Gururaj, Praveena Joseph-de Saram, and Karin Sigloch. Daniel Raburn was appointed as the fifth member of the committee on February 22nd by the committee chair. (This appointment took place after Daniel Raburn had withdrawn his candidacy for Chair).

Election Plan:

The election plan was approved by Assembly at the meeting on February 14th. Below is a timeline of the election, including an outline of the election plan.

- 1. Election Committee formed: Feb. 14, 2007
- 2. Election Plan approved: Feb. 14, 2007
- 3. Election Committee calls for nominations: Jan. 17, Jan 30, Feb 2.
- 4. Deadline for nominations: 11:59 p.m. Monday, Feb. 5, 2007
 - Nominees will be contacted to confirm their interest and asked to submit campaign statements.
- 5. Candidate statements due: 11:59 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2007
 - Also deadline for post-enrolled candidates to pay dues to run in the election. DCE students are enrolled and have already paid dues. Only ETDCC students should need to pays dues to run in the election.
- 6. Announcement of candidates: Wednesday, Feb. 14 at GSG Assembly meeting. Posted on website by Feb. 16, 2007.
- 7. "Meet the Candidates" Forum: 5:30 p.m. 7:00 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22, 2007 Frist 205
- 8. Election days: 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 23, 2007 5 p.m. Monday, Mar. 5, 2007 (Note: Changed from original dates of 2/26/2007-3/9/2007)
- Preliminary vote counts provided to candidates and GSG Assembly: Tuesday, Mar. 6, 2007
- 10. Election count and announcement: by Wednesday, Mar. 14, 2007

Nominees and Candidates:

There were 5 nominees for Chair, 8 for Parliamentary Secretary, 8 for Corresponding Secretary, 7 for Press Secretary, 7 for Recording Secretary, 3 for Treasurer, and 7 for Social Chair. All candidates who accepted their nomination were deemed eligible by the election committee.

After accepting their nominations, 3 candidates withdrew their nominations:

- Daniel Raburn withdrew from Chair on 2/20/2007
- Chris DeCoro withdrew from Social Chair on 2/20/2007
- Cori Anderson withdrew from Social Chair on 2/20/2007

Balloting:

Quorum (for each office) is 10% of the number of enrolled graduate students. The total number of enrolled graduate students (as reported by Lisa Schreyer, Assistant Dean of the Graduate School) is 2209 (including 187 DCE students and 80 students in absentia). 6 students were on a leave of absence and were eligible to vote but are not enrolled and therefore not counted in calculating quorum. Hence, quorum for each office was 221 voters.

Balloting was held online from 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 23, 2007 to 5 p.m. Monday, Mar. 5, 2007. The total number of voters was 366 for each office; hence, quorum was met for each office. (Quorum is based on voters which includes abstains.) All potential voters were allowed to vote, and no ETDCC students asked to pay the GSG fee to become eligible. The results are as follows:

Chair:

Approve Shin-Yi Lin: 296 votes (89.97%) Disapprove Shin-Yi Lin: 33 votes (10.03%) Abstain: 37 votes Parliamentary Secretary: Approve Silvia Newell: 308 votes (94.48%) Disapprove Silvia Newll: 18 votes (5.52%) Abstain: 40 votes *Corresponding Secretary:* Approve Robert MacGregor: 299 votes (93.73%) Disapprove Robert MacGregor: 20 votes (6.27%) Abstain: 47 votes Treasurer: Approve Alex Ntelekos: 295 votes (92.19%) Disapprove Alex Ntelekos: 25 votes (7.81%) Abstain: 46 votes Social Chair: Approve Jiayue (Jenny) He: 307 votes (93.88%) Disapprove Jiayue (Jenny) He: 20 votes (6.12%)

Abstain: 39 votes *Recording Secretary:* Aryeh Amihay: 105 votes (35.12%) Marina Paul: 183 votes (61.20%) None of the Above (Dissaprove): 11 votes (3.68%) Abstain: 67 votes

The candidates for Chair, Parliamentary Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Treasurer, and Social Chair were all approved, and Marina Paul won the election for Recording Secretary. All elections were deemed valid by the committee.

Notes:

Assembly voted on February 14th to allow candidates another opportunity to modify their candidate statements, at the recommendation of the committee chair. Candidates were notified on 2/18/2007 that they could submit updated statements until 5pm Tuesday 2/20/2007.

The enrollment information received from the Graduate School was broken down into the following enrolled categories:

[Blank] - normal (1396), DCE (187), RGLR (62), RPHD (441), ABX (16), CORR (2), DDFR (1), DEPT (2), GPLC (4), INAB - in absentia (80), RADM (1), RLOA - returned from leave of absense (17).

The following is an un-enrolled status: GLOA - leave of absense (6)