Advanced Vehicle/Highway Systems and Urban Traffic Problems

September 1989

NTIS order #PB94-134731

Advanced Vehicle/Highway Systems and Urban Traffic Problems E. ato ato STAFF PAPER September 1989 Science Education, and Transportation Program Office of Technology Assessment Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510-8025

ADVANCED VEHICLE/HIGHWAY SYSTEMS AND URBAN TRAFFIC PROBLEMS

OTA PROJECT STAFF

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

Nancy Carson, Program Manager Science, Education, and Transportation Program

Edith B. Page, Transportation Project Director

Jonathan Atkin, Principal Analyst

Marsha Fenn, Assistant to the Program Manager

Madeline Gross, Administrative Secretary

Kimberley Gilchrist, Secretary

Reviewers and Contributors

Richard Barnes, General Accounting Office Robert Betsold, Federal Highway Administration Ashok Boghani, Arthur D. Little, inc. **Richard Braun, University of Minnesota** Sadler Bridges, The Texas A&M University System Roy Bushey, California Department of Transportation Thomas Carr, Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association Joseph Contegni, New York State Department of Transportation Jack Deacon, Transportation Research Board Donald Dey, City of Anaheim Public Works **Engineering Department** Walter Diewald, Office of Technology Assessment Kevin Depart, Office of Technology Assessment Robert Ervin, University of Michigan Etak. inc. Michael Finkelstein, National Highway Traffic Safety Ministration Robert L French, Fort Worth, TX William Harris, The Texas A&M University System Chris Hill, Castle Rock Consultants Thomas Horan, General Accounting Office Shelton Jackson, U.S. Department of Transportation Hans Klein, Massachusetts institute of Technology

Peter Koltnow, American Trucking Associations Farrell Krall, Navistar Technical Center Damian J. Kulash, Strategic Highway Research Program William Leasure, National Highway Traffic Safety Ministration Peter Lowrie, Roads and Traffic Authority, New South Wales, Australia Thomas Marchessault, U.S. Department of Transportation Panes Michalopoulos, University of Minnesota Robert Parsons, University of California at Berkeley Raman Patel, City of New York Department of Transportation Radar Control Systems Corp. Harry Reed, Arizona Department of Transportation Carlton Robinson, Highway Users Federation Ed Rowe, City of Los Angeles Department of Transportation Lyle Saxton, Virginia Federal Highway Administration Jeffrey N. Shane, U.S. Department of Transportation William Spreitzer, General Motor Research Laboratories Michael Walton, University of Texas at Austin **Dave Willis, ATA Foundation**