echnology Assessment Advisory Council

The Technology Assessment Advisory Council (TAAC) was established by OTA'S statute, and members are appointed by OTA'S congressional Technology Assessment Board (TAB). The council advises TAB and the Director on issues and other matters related to science, technology, and technology assessment.

TAAC Members

CHASE N. PETERSON, Chairman

Dr. Peterson, formerly President, is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Utah. He practiced medicine at the Salt Lake Clinic and taught at the LDS Hospital and University of Utah Medical School until his appointment as Dean of Admissions and Financial Aids at Harvard College. There he also served as Vice President for Alumni Affairs and Development. Dr. Peterson returned to the University of Utah in 1978 as Vice President for Health Sciences, and has served as University President from 1983-1991.

JOSHUA LEDERBERG,

Vice Chairman

Dr. Lederberg, former President, is now Professor at Rockefeller University. He is the former Chairman of the Department of Genetics at Stanford University School of Medicine. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and is a Nobel Laureate in Physiology and Medicine.

LEWIS M. BRANSCOMB

Dr. Branscomb is the Albert Pratt Public Service Professor at Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of Government. He is a former executive of International Business Machines. Prior to joining IBM, he was the Director of the National Bureau of Standards.

MICHEL T. HALBOUTY

Mr. Halbouty is Chairman of the Board of Michel T. Halbouty Energy Co. in Houston, Texas. Prior to establishing his company, he was a chief geologist and petroleum engineer with Glenn H. McCarthy and also with Yount-Lee Oil Co.

NEIL E. HARL

Dr. Harl is the Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, where he has served on the faculty since 1964.

JAMES HUNT

Dr. Hunt is the chancellor of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis. He previously served as the Dean of Medicine for the University and as Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic.

HENRY KOFFLER

Dr. Koffler, formerly President, is a Professor of Biochemistry and Microbiology at the University of Arizona. He previously served on the faculties of the University of Massachusetts, University of Minnesota, and Purdue University.

MAX LENNON

Dr. Lennon is President of Clemson University. He is the former Vice President for Agricultural Administration and Executive Dean for Agriculture at the Ohio State University. He previously served as Dean of Agriculture at the University of Missouri and Associate Dean and Professor at Texas Tech University.

JOHN F.M. SIMS

Dr. Sims is Vice President of Marketing for Usibelli Coal Mine, Inc. He previously served as Director of the Office of Mineral Development with the Alaska Department of Commerce and Economic Development. Dr. Sims also taught Geological Engineering at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks.

MARINA v.N. WHITMAN

Dr. Whitman is Vice President and Group Executive for Public Affairs Staff Group at General Motors Corporation. She previously served as Vice President and Chief Economist at General Motors. She also taught at the University of Pittsburgh.

Statutory Members

CHARLES A. BOWSHER

Mr. Bowsher is Comptroller General of the United States and Director of the U.S. General Accounting Office.

JOSEPH E. ROSS

Mr. Ross is Director of the Congressional Research Service, U.S. Library of Congress.



The Distinguished Service Award is given to those individuals who have made notable outstanding contributions to OTA and the accomplishment of OTA'S mission. Nominations are made by all OTA staff, and employees in all job categories are eligible. A rotating Employee Recognition Committee selects the recipients. The following OTA staff were honored with the Distinguished Service Award for 1991 at the Employee Recognition Reception, October 3. 1991:

Peter Blair, Program Manager, Energy and Materials Program Larry Bond, Senior Systems Analyst, Telecommunications & Information Systems

Kerry Kemp, Senior Analyst, Health and Life Sciences Division Peter Johnson, Senior Associate, Oceans and Environment Program

■ John P. Andelin, Assistant Director, Science, Information, and Natural Resources

California Institute of Technology 1991 Distinguished Alumni

- John H. Gibbons, Director
 Federation of American Scientists

 1990 Public Service Award
 American Physical Society

 1991 Leo Szilard Award
- Linda G. Roberts, Senior Associate, Science, Education, and
 Transportation Program
 Electronic Learning magazine,
 Educator of the Decade

The National Association of Government Communicators conducts the Blue Pencil Competition as an annual recognition of outstanding government communications projects and their producers. Entries are judged on writing, editorial content, layout and design, achievement of purpose and cost-effectiveness, This year three OTA reports were recognized in the Blue Pencil Competition:

 Genetic Monitoring and Screening in the Workplace, Biological Applications Program, Margaret Anderson, Project Director—Second Place in the Publication for Technical Audience Category