serving as the Technology Assessment Board of the 104th Congress

AMO HOUGHTON, New York, Chairman

EDWARD M. KENNEDY, Massachusetts, Vice Chairman

SENATE HOUSE

ERNEST F. HOLLINGS, South Carolina

CLAIBORNE PELL, Rhode Island

ORRIN G. HATCH, Utah

CHARLES E. GRASSLEY, Iowa

GEORGE E. BROWN, Jr., California

JOHN D. DINGELL, Michigan

JIM MCDERMOTT, Washington

MICHAEL G. OXLEY, Ohio

ROGER C. HERDMAN, Nonvoting

TECHNOLOGY ASSESSMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL

JAMES C. HUNT, Chairman NEIL E. HARL

Distinguished Professor Charles F. Curtis Distinguished Professor

Health Sciences Center Iowa State University

University of Tennessee Ames, Iowa

Memphis, Tennessee JOSHUA LEDERBREG

MAX LENNON, Vice Chairman Professor, Rockefeller University

President and CEO New York, New York
Eastern Foods, Inc. DANIEL MULHOLLAN

Atlanta, Georgia Director, Congressional Research Service

CHARLES A. BOWSHER
Comptroller General of the
United States
Washington, D.C.
United States
Washington, D.C.
United States
United States
Usibelli Coal Mine, Inc.
Albert Pratt Public Service Professor
Fairbanks, Alaska

JFK School of Government L. DOUGLAS SMOOT Harvard University Dean, College of Engineering

Cambridge, Massachusetts and Technology

HERBERT [TED] DOAN Brigham Young University
President [Ret.] Salt Lake City, Utah

The Dow Chemical Company

MARINA v.N. WHITMAN

Midland, Michigan Marinav.N. WHITMAN

Professor, Institute of Public

Policy Studies University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan