Appendix A Technology Assessment Advisory Council

The Technology Assessment Advisory Council (TAAC) was established by OTA's statute, and members are appointed by OTA's Congressional Technology Assessment Board (TAB). The Council advises TAB and the Director on issues and other matters related to science, technology, and technology assessment,

Members of TAAC on September 30, 1984, were:

Charles N. Kimball, Chairman

Dr. Kimball is President Emeritus of the Midwest Research Institute, having previously served there as Chairman of the Board and President. He is a former member of the Board of Directors of Trans World Airlines. He has served on several government scientific commissions and advisory councils and has written extensively for business, management and scientific publications.

Earl Beistline

Dr. Beistline is a private consultant in Fairbanks, Alaska. He is former Dean of the School of Mineral Industry, and also Provost of the University of Alaska.

Claire T. Dedrick

Dr. Dedrick is Executive Officer of the State Land Commission of California. She is a former member of the State of California Air Resources Board, a former California Public Utilities Commissioner, and has served as Secretary for Resources with The Resources Agency of the State of California.

James C. Fletcher

Dr. Fletcher is Whiteford Professor of Technology and Resources, University of Pittsburgh. He is former Administrator of NASA, President of the University of Utah, and Vice President for Systems at Aerojet General.

S. David Freeman

Mr. Freeman is currently a private consultant. He is former Chairman and member of the Board of the Tennessee Valley Authority. He has headed the energy policy staff of the President's Office of Science and Technology Policy; directed the Ford Foundation Energy Policy Project; and served as assistant to the Chairman of the Federal Power Commission.

Carl N. Hodges

Mr. Hodges is Director of the University of Arizona Environmental Research Laboratory and Chairman of the Arizona Solar Energy Commission. He currently serves as a member of the National Academy of Sciences' Advisory Committee on Technology Innovation and as a member of the Arizona-Mexico Commission. Mr. Hodges is a Fellow of the AAAS.

Rachel McCulloch

Dr. McCulloch is Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Wisconsin, currently on leave at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University. She has served as a consultant to the Federal Reserve Board; is a former member of the U.S. Cabinet Task Force on Oil Import Control; and presently serves as a member of the Presidential Commission on Industrial Competitiveness.

William Jo Perry

Dr. Perry is a managing director in the investment banking firm of Hambrecht & Quist, Inc. Prior to joining H&Q, he was the U.S. Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Perry will succeed Dr. Kimball as TAAC Chairman in 1985.

David S. Potter

Dr. Potter is Vice President, Power Products and Defense Operations Group at General Motors. He is formerly Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research and Development and Under Secretary of the Navy. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Potter will serve as TAAC'S Vice Chairman commencing in 1985.

Lowis Thomas

Dr. Thomas is President Emeritus of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and University Professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He is a former member of the President's Biomedical Research Panel and of the President's Science Advisory Committee. Dr. Thomas is a distinguished lecturer and author in the medical field. He received the National Book Award in the arts and letters for his book, Lives of a Cell. Dr. Thomas is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

Statutory Members

Charles A. Bowsher

Mr. Bowsher is Comptroller General of the United States and Director of the U.S. General Accounting Office.

Gilbert Gude

 $\mbox{Mr.}$ Gude is Director of the Congressional Research Service, U.S. Library of Congress.