Appendixes

Appendix A Technology Assessment Advisory Council

The Technology Assessment Advisory Council (TAAC) was established by OTA's statute, and members are appointed by OTA's Congressional Technology Assessment Board (TAB). The Council advises TAB and the Director on issues and other matters related to science, technology, and technology assessment.

Members of TAAC on September 30, 1985, were:

William J. Perry, Chairman

Dr. Perry is managing partner of H&Q Technology Partners. Earlier in 1985 he was a managing director in the investment banking firm of Hambrecht & Quist, Inc. Prior to joining H&Q, he was the U.S. Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Perry succeeded Dr. Kimball as TAAC Chairman in 1985.

David S. Potter, Vice Chairman

Dr. Potter retired as Vice President, Power Products and Defense Operations Group at General Motors in June 1985, He was formerly Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research and Development and Under Secretary of the Navy. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Earl Beistline

Dr. Beistline is a private consultant in Fairbanks, Alaska. He is former Dean of the School of Mineral Industry, and also Former Provost of the University of Alaska.

Claire T. Dedrick

Dr. Dedrick is Executive Officer of the State Land Commission of California. She is a former member of the State of California Air Resources Board, a former California Public Utilities Commissioner, and has served as Secretary for Resources with The Resources Agency of the State of California.

James C. Fletcher

Dr. Fletcher is Whiteford Professor of Technology and Resources, University of Pittsburgh. He is former Administrator of NASA, President of the University of Utah, and Former Vice President for Systems at Aerojet General.

So David Freeman

Mr. Freeman is currently a private consultant. He is former Chairman and member of the Board of the Tennessee Valley Authority. He has headed the energy policy staff of the President's Office of Science and Technology Policy; directed the Ford Foundation Energy Policy Project; and served as assistant to the Chairman of the Federal Power Commission.

Michel T. Halbouty

Mr. Halbouty is Chairman of the Board of Michel T. Halbouty Energy Co. in Houston, Texas. Prior to establishing his company, he was a chief geologist and petroleum engineer with Glenn H. McCarthy and also with Yount-Lee Oil Co.

Carl N. Hodges

Professor Hodges is Director of the University of Arizona Environmental Research Laboratory and Chairman of the Arizona Solar Energy Commission. He currently serves as a member of the National Academy of Sciences' Advisory Committee on Technology Innovation and as a member of the Arizona-Mexico Commission. Professor Hodges is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Rachel McCulloch

Dr. McCulloch is Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Wisconsin, on leave in 1985 at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University. She has served as a consultant to the Federal Reserve Board; is a former member of the U.S. Cabinet Task Force on Oil Import Control; and served as a member of the Presidential Commission on Industrial Competitiveness.

Lewis Thomas

Dr. Thomas is president Emeritus of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and University Professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He is a former member of the President's Biomedical Research Panel and of the President's Science Advisory Committee. Dr. Thomas is a distinguished lecturer and author in the medical field. He received the National Book Award in the arts and letters for his book, *Lives of a Cell*. Dr. Thomas is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

Statutory Members

Charles A. Bowsher

 $\mbox{Mr.}$ Bowsher is Comptroller General of the United States and Director of the U.S. General Accounting Office.

Gilbert Gude

 $Mr.\ Gude$ is Director* of the Congressional Research Service, U.S. Library of Congress.

^{*}Resigned as Director effective Oct. 1, 1985.