Acknowledgments

Science, Technology, and the Constitution in the Information Age: The Future of the Press and the First Amendment Workshop-Mar. 26, 1987

Vivian Arterbery Executive Director

U.S. National Commission on Library and Information Science

Joseph Bremner

Database Development, Inc.

Lisa Carlson Director

Networking Services

Metasystems Design Groups, Inc.

Michael F. Cavanagh Executive Director

Electronic Mail Association

Mike Greenly

Mike Greenly Consultants

Reed Irvine

Accuracy in Media, Inc. Richard P. Kleeman

Director

The First Amendment Center

Patrick Maines President

The Media Institute

Phil Moore President

Networking & World Information

Richard Neustadt

Private Satellite Network, Inc.

Kendrick Noble, Jr. Payne Webber, Inc.

David Peyton

Information Industry Association

Monroe Price

Benjamin Cardozo Law School

Judith Roales Vice President

Independent Newspapers, Inc.

Richard Schmidt, Jr. Cohn & Marks **Bob Smith**

Executive Director

Videotext Industry Association

David Thurm

Counsel

New York Times

Jane Wilson

Assistant Director

Telecommunications Affairs

American Newspaper Publishers Association

Scientific Communications, National Security, and the First Amendment Workshop-Mar. 11, 1987

Allan Adler

American Civil Liberties Union

Kenneth Allen

Information Industry Association

Jerry J. Berman

Director, Project on Privacy and Technology

American Civil Liberties Union

Daniel DeSimone Executive Director

American Association of Engineering Societies

Diane Fountaine

Director, Information Systems U.S. Department of Defense

Harlow Freitag

Chairman, Technology Transfer Committee Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Liigineers

Stephen Gould

Committee on Scientific Freedom and

Responsibility

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Harold P. Green National Law Center

George Washington University

Richard Kleeman

Association of American Publishers

Jonathan Knight

American Association of University Professors

Harold C. Relyea

Specialist in American National Government

Congressional Research Service

Frank Sobieszczyk

Chief, Research Programs Office (DTAG)

U.S. Department of Defense

Paul Stephan

University of Virginia

School of Law

Tom Suttle

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers

Mitchell B. Wallerstein

National Academy of Sciences

Additional Contributors and Reviewers

Part I

Lee Burdick

The Media Institute

Henry Geller

Telecommunications Research and Action

Committee

David Littlejohn

University of California, Berkeley

David Peyton

Information Industry Association

David Thurm New York Times David Walsh

Electronic Information Services Development

Within OTA:

Richard Dalbello

International Security and Commerce Program

David Margulius

Communications and Information Technologies

Program

Mark Nadel

Communications and Information Technologies

Program

Part 11

Ronald Calinger

The Catholic University

Steven Goldberg

Georgetown University Law Center

Stephen Gould

American Association for the Advancement of

Science

Daniel O. Hill

U.S. Department of Commerce

Richard Kleeman

Sigma Delta Chi Foundation

Jonathan Knight

Association of University Professors

Frank Sobieszczyk

U.S. Department of Defense

Mitchell B. Wallerstein

National Academy of Sciences

David Whitman

U.S. Department of Defense

Within OTA:

Richard Dalbello

International Security and Commerce Program

Lisa Heinz

Science, Education and Transportation

Program

Nancy Naismith

Science, Education and Transportation

Program

Peter Sharfman

International Security and Commerce Program

Chuck Wilk

Communication and Information Technologies

Program