# **APPENDIXES**

# Appendix A PERSONS INTERVIEWED

# **ASSOCIATIONS**

• Association of American Railroads (AAR)

J. C. Buckingham

Safety and Special Services

William Dempsey

President

W. J. Harris

Vice President, Research & Test

M. B. Hargrove

Research & Test

Ken Hurdle

Economics and Finance

A. S. Lang

Assistant to the President

Staff Studies

J. E. Martin

Vice President

Operations and Maintenance

J. A. Risendahl

Safety and Special Services

Aviva E. Schulman

Research and Test

Chuck E. Taylor

Research and Test

• Railway Progress Institute (RPI)

Robert A. Matthews

Vice President

Rex Wailer

**Project Director** 

Grade Crossing Safety

• Short Line Railroad Association

Howard Craft

President

# FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Federal Highway Administration

Lucien M. Bolon

Office of Engineering

Jim Carney

Railroad and Utilities Branch

Office of Engineering

Sidney Louick

Office of Highway Safety, Pol"cy

Development

James L. Rummel

Office of Highway Safety, Pol Cy

Development

• Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)

Thomas Barbour

**Enforcement Division** 

**Donald Bennett** 

Associate Administrator

Office of Safety

W. F. Black

Hazardous Materials Section

Office of Safety

J. Boughers

Planning & Evaluation Section

Office of Safety

#### Federal Railroad Administration (Continued)

J. U. Chrisman

Office of Safety Programs

Ann Cook State Programs

Office of Federal Assistance

Gene Cox State Programs

Office of Federal Assistance

E. F. Conway, Sr. Assistant Chief Counsel Safety Regulation Division

Stan Ellis

Reports and Analysis Section

Office of Safety Nancy Fleetwood Office of Safety

J. T. Furphy

Assistant Chief Counsel Enforcement Division

Frank Fanelli

Planning & Evaluation Section

Office of Safety

Bruce Flohr

Deputy Administrator (Former)

Robert Gallamore Deputy Administrator

Richard J. Galvin

Supervisory Specialist, Region III

Tom Harvey

Regional Director of Federal Assistance

W. F. Hell

Acting Regional Administrator

Eastern Region

Bill Johnson

Office of Research & Development

J. A. McNalley

Office of Standards & Procedures

Office of Safety

R. Mowatt-Larssen

Office of Standards & Procedures

Office of Safety

Robert E. Parsons

Associate Administrator

Office of Research& Development

Levitt Peterson

Director, Office of Rail Safety Research

Robert Schramm Office of Safety Stephen Urman

Office of Administrator

Railroad Occupation Safety & Health

**Specialist** 

Ted Voss

Office of Policy & Program Development

• General Accounting Office (GAO)

Mel Mench GAO Auditor

William M. Romano

Resources and Economic Development

• National Transportation Safety Board

Elmer Garner Chief, Rail Division

• Occupational Safety and Health

Administration (OSHA)

Bill Cloe Statistician

William Funcheon

Area Office Administrator, Chicago

Fred Hetzel Program Analyst John Hynan

Deputy Associate Solicitor

Owen Ridenour Inspector

Janet Spruknan Safety Engineer Mike Turner Program Analyst

Barry White

Regional Administrator, Chicago

# LABOR ORGANIZATIONS

- Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers
   Ed McCulloch
   Vice President
- Brotherhood of Railroad Carmen of America
   William Crawford
   Legislative Representative
- Transport Workers Union of America
   William G. Linder
   Executive Vice President & Director
   Education and Safety
   James Sherlock
   President, Local 2001, Railroad Division
   Albert Tereggio

International Vice President Director, Railroad Division Robert W. Gruam
Member

John W. McGinness
State Legislative Director, Illinois
Jack Paradee
State Legislative Director, Delaware
Marshall Sage
Legislative Research Director
P. W. Simmons
Assistant Legislative Director, Illinois
James Snyder
National Legislative Director

• United Transportation Union

# **RAILROADS**

- Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe
  Joe McMillan
   Assistant Manager of Safety
   R, D. Shaver
   Manager of Safety
- Burlington Northern
   Abbott Skinner
   Chief Medical Examiner
- Belt Railway Company of Chicago
   J. Overby
   General Superintendent
- Chessie System

William F. Howes Vice President Casualty Prevention Department John Snow Vice President Legislative Affairs

• Chicago and North Western Railway Co.

Gordon R. Danielson Director, Accident Prevention William Spellman Assistant vice President Accident Loss and Prevention James A. Zito Vice President of Operations

Conrail

P. M. BrodtSafety SuperintendentJ. A. FloodManager, Safety Administration

J. S. Dehl

Manager, Hazardous Materials

W. Hedderman

Chief Safety Officer

M. C. Mitchell

General Superintendent, Safety

B. L. Swieringa Manager, Training

#### • Duluth Missabe—Iron Range Railway Co.

Charles W. Bailey

Director of Safety & Plant Protection

#### · Florida East Coast

S. F. Stewart

Manager, Insurance/Safety

#### • Illinois Central Gulf

H.F. Davenport

Senior Vice President, Operations

Chris Rochford

Executive Representative

#### • Missouri Pacific

C. S. Baldwin

General Superintendent

Rules and Safety

#### Philadelphia, Bethlehem, and New England Railroad

John B. Cornish

Director of Safety and Training

#### Rock Island

J. J. Button

Director of Safety and Rules

John D. Mitros

Vice President

William C. Hoenig

Chief Operations Officer

N. Swain

Director of Marketing

#### • Seaboard Coastline

W. C. Basney

Real Property Attorney

H. M. Davis

Assistant Chief Engineer

Communications & Signals

J. C. Foster

Chief of Motive Power

R. D. Liggett

Chief Engineer

Communications & Signals

J. G. McCormick

General Supervisor, Rules

C. S. Stringfellow

Assistant Vice President, Equipment

Waldo Wingate

General Supervisor, Safety

R. E. White

**Rules** 

#### Southern Railroad

C. Burnham

Director of Safety

Robert C. Fort

Special Representative

Coleman Longworth

Special Projects

#### • Southern Pacific

Bill Denton

Vice President

Dan Flanagan

Government Affairs Representative

Percy Satterwhite

Assistant Manager, Employee Safety

# • Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis

J. R. Bowman

Chief Engineer

W. J. Compton

Director of Rules& Safety

# **STATES**

#### • Alabama

Jimmy Hooks Transportation Regional Specialist Public Service Commission

#### Connecticut

K. D. FaustAssistant Chief EngineerPublic Utilities Commission

#### Delaware

E. M. Chesley, 111 Chief, Regulatory Services Department of Transportation

#### • IIIinois

Bernard Morris
Assistant Chief Railroad Engineer
Commerce Commission
Ray Morrison
Chief Railroad Engineer
Commerce Commission

#### Iowa

Les Chesling
Development & Support
Highway Division
Dan Franklin
Administrative Assistant
Railroad Division
Department of Transportation
L. Holland
Railroad Division Director
Department of Transportation

#### • Indiana

John Dung Director of Transportation Public Service Commission

#### Maryland

T. L. Lovelace Assistant Director of Transportation Public Service Commission

# Michigan

G. F. RobertsonRailroad Safety InspectorT. J. TrimbachRailroad Regulation Section

#### • Minnesota

Gordon Boldt Chief, Railroad Operations Section Department of Transportation Cecil Selness Rail Development Section

#### Missouri

John O. Richey Office of Safety Public Service Commission

#### • New York

Martin Chauvin Chief, Carrier Safety Section Department of Transportation Richard Wiita Director of Railroad Safety

#### • Pennsylvania

R. A. Peteritas Chief Engineer Public Utilities Commission

#### Tennessee

W. B. Pemberton Director, Railroad Division Public Service Commission

# **SUPPLIERS**

# • Sperry Rail Services

W. J. Gallagher President

C E. Kennedy Operations Manager

J. W. Thomas Quality Control Manager

# • Pullman Standard

Bertram Beers Vice President—General Counsel

Warren Brown Vice President Freight Car Service Engineering

William Marshall

Associate General Counsel