Environmental Contaminants in Food

December 1979

NTIS order #PB80-153265

Environmental Contaminants in Food



Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 79-600207

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office Washington, D.C. 20402 Stock No. 052-003-00724-0

FOREWORD

This report presents the major findings of an OTA assessment of Federal and State efforts to deal with the environmental contamination of food. Undertaken at the request of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, the study examines both regulatory approaches and monitoring strategies for coping with contaminated food.

The assessment is concerned with chemical and radioactive contaminants that inadvertently find their way into the human food supply. To bring the scope of inquiry within manageable bounds, we excluded naturally occurring toxins such as fungal and microbial toxins.

The Office of Technology Assessment was assisted by two advisory panels of scientists and representatives of public interest groups, agriculture, the chemical industry, fisheries, and State and foreign governments. The Food and Drug Administration, the Department of Agriculture, and the Environmental Protection Agency each designated staff members to attend panel meetings, provide background information, and review draft reports, Background papers were commissioned concerning the scientific aspects of detecting and regulating environmental contaminants in food. The Congressional Research Service provided five analyses of previous food contamination episodes, Reviews of the draft report were provided by the advisory panels, Federal agencies, and a number of interested individuals not previously involved with the assessment.

Because this assessment addresses concerns of American citizens as well as policy makers and scientists, the summary of the report is also being published as a separate document. The summary provides the interested citizen with an informative and clear overview of this complex problem. Copies of the summary can he obtained free of charge from the office of Technology Assessment, U.S. Congress, Washington, D.C. 20510.

JOHN H. GIBBONS

Director

Tolerance Advisory Panel

James Anderson

Manager for Material Safety Allied Chemical Corporation

Louise Burke Executive Director

Consumer Council of Virginia Foundation Consumer Council of Virginia, Inc.

Kenneth Crump

Department of Mathematics and Statistics Louisiana Tech University

Donald Epp

Department of Agricultural Economics and

Rural Sociology

Pennsylvania Stale [University

Frederick Halbert Dairy Farmer Delton, Mich.

Joseph Highland Chairman

Toxic Chemicals Program Environmental Defense Fund Robert Jackson

Assistant State Health Commissioner Director, Office of Health Protection and Environmental Management

Virginia State Health Department

Kazuo K, Kimura School of Medicine Wright State University

Marvin Legator

Director

Division of Environmental Toxicology Deportment of Preventive Medicine and

Community Health University of Texas Medical Branch

David Lindsay Technical Secretary

Steering Group on Food Surveillance Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and

Food United Kingdom Roy Mart in Director

Science and Technology National Fisheries Institute, Inc. Richard Merrill School of Law University of Virginia

Joseph Rosen

Department of Food Science Rutgers University

John Rust Professor Emeritus Pharmacology/Radiology University of Chicago

Gary Van Gelder College of Veterinary Medicine University of Missouri

John Van Ryzin RAND Corporation

George Whitehead Deputy Director Office for Consumer Affairs Michigan Department of Agriculture

Monitoring Advisory Panel

Raymond Allred

Director

Environmental Conservation Research Continental Oil Company

Richard Anderson

Chairman

Statistics Department University of Kentucky

John Bourke Director

Analytical Division Food Science Department Cornell University

Vaughan Bowen

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

Shirley Briggs Executive Director

Rachel Carson Trust for the Living

Environment, Inc.

Leon Chesnin Department of Agronomy University of Nebraska

William Cooper

Professor

Department of Zoology College of Natural Science Michigan State University

John Davies Chairman

Department of Epidemiology and Public

Ĥealth School of Medicine

University of Miami

Blake Early Environmental Action, Inc.

Edward Elkins

Director

Chemistry Division

Washington Research Laboratory National Food Processors' Association

Ronald J. Hingle Administrator

Food and Drug Control Unit Bureau of Environmental Services Louisiana Office of Health Services and Environmental Quality

S. Roy Koirtyohann

Environmental Trace Substances Center University of Missouri

Charles Krister Retired Manager

Biochemicals Department E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Company

John Laseter Director

Center for Bio-Organic Studies University of New or leans

John Martin

Moss Landing Marine Laboratories

Rebecca Sharitz

Savannah River Ecology Laboratories

University of Georgia

Gerald Ward

Department of Animal Science Colorado State University

Food and Renewable Resources Program Staff

Joyce C. Lashof, Assistant Director Health and Life Sciences Division J. B. Cordaro, Program Manager* Walter Parham, Program Manager

Catherine Woteki, Project Director Robert Smith, Research Assistant

Chris Elf ring, OTA Congressional Fellow

Administrative Staff

Phyllis Balan Elizabeth Galloway Ogechee Koffler

Contractors

Lloyd W. Hazleton, Technical Advisor to Tolerance Panel Robert Huggett, Technical Advisor to Monitoring Panel Samuel Iker, Editor

OTA Publishing Staff

John C. Holmes, Publishing Officer Kathie S. Boss Joanne Heming

Food Advisory Committee

Martin E. Abel, Chairmen Senior Vice President Schnittker Associates

Johanna Dwyer, Co-Chairman Director

Frances Stern Nutrition Center

David Call

Dean, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Cornell University

Cy Carpenter President

Minnesota Farmers Union

Eliot Coleman
Director
Coolidge Center for the
Study of Agriculture

Almeta Edwards Fleming Social Program Coordinator Florence County, S.C. Lorne Greene
Chairman of the Board
American Freedom From
Hunger Foundation

Richard L. Hall
Vice President, Science and
Technology
McCormick & Company, Inc.

Laura Heuser Member, Board of Directors Agricultural Council of America

Arnold Mayer
Legislative Representative
Amalgamated Meat Cutters and
Butcher Workmen of North
America

Max Milner
Executive Director
American Institute of Nutrition

Robert 0. Nesheim
Vice President, Science and
Technology
The Quaker oats Company

Kathleen O'Reilly

Director

Consumer Federation of America

R. Dennis Rouse

Dean, School of Agriculture Auburn University

Lauren Seth Agricultural Consultant Thomas Sporleder Professor of Agricultural Economics Texas A&M University

Sylvan Wittwer Director and Assistant Dean College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Michigan State University

^{*}Resigned June 16, 1979, and continued to serve under contract to assessment completion.