Prizes, Awards and Fellowships

1. Jeffrey O. Kephart '80 Prize

is awarded yearly to the EP graduating senior with the most outstanding academic record.

No nominations are needed. The EP faculty nominates the candidates and selects the winner(s) at the end of each academic year. The award carries a monetary value of $500.00.

A list of past recipients is shown further below.


2. The Best Engineering Physics Independent Work Award

is awarded yearly to the a junior or senior EP student whose independent work or thesis is deemed most outstanding by the EP faculty. To qualify, the independent work must have a significant physics content (if the student is an engineer), or engineering content (if the student is a physicist); the work must be nominated by the student's advisor by sending an e-mail message to the Program's director and describing the outstanding engineering physics value of the work. A copy of the final report or thesis, in PDF format, should also be e-mailed to the director by the student or advisor by noon May 15, 2014.

The award will be announced at the end of each academic year and carries a monetary value of $500.00.

3. The Young EP Scholar Travel Award

is awarded to cover travel expenses of a junior or senior EP student whose work is deemed worthy of presentation at a national or international conference or symposium. To qualify, a request from the student's project advisor must be sent by e-mail to the Program's director. The request must include a PDF of a late draft of the paper, the title and location of the conference and a brief evaluation of the quality of the work and the contribution of the student if he or she is not the main author.

Two EP Scholar Travel Awards, of $500.00 each, are available each academic year and will be awarded on a first-come basis after evaluation by the EP faculty. Applications are accepted any time during the academic year.


4. The Engineering Physics Summer Fellowship Program

is designed for Princeton undergraduate students interested in spending the summer with a Princeton Physics or Engineering faculty member to work on a research problem with an engineering physics flavor.

This fellowship program awards up to 1/2 half summer support to the selected student(s), with the balance coming from another source (such as the research grant of the research advisor or a departmental award).

Students in the Engineering Physics Program will be given priority, but any physics or engineering students who might be seriously considering joining the program can apply. Selection will be based on the availability of funds (which will dictate the number of students who can be supported), academic standing and nature of the research project.

To apply, send the following 4 items via email to by noon, May 15, 2014:

1. A 1-page statement of intent describing your interest in engineering physics and the particular research project you wish to work on.

2. A brief message from the faculty advisor stating his/her willingness to mentor you during the summer on that project.

3. A commitment from the advisor (or the other source for the supplemental support) to provide supplemental support.

4. Your transcript.

The Engineering Physics Committee will evaluate the applications shortly after the above date and announce the winners who will be given summer support.

The winners are required to summarize their work and results in a 4-page paper to be submitted to the program at the end of the summer.



Jeffrey O. Kephart '80 Prize Winners

2014 TBA  
2013 Amaresh Sahu Chemical and Biological Engineering
2012 Matthew Edwards Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2011 Michael Gelbart Physics
2010 Joonas Govenius Physics
2009 Chris Baldassano
Kamil Khan

Electrical Enginering

Chemical Engineering

2008 Amirali Modir Shanechi Electrical Enginering
2007 Jayson Paulose Physics
2006 Catherine Kunkel Physics

Bryan Ellis
Julia Bert

Electrical Engineering

2004 Jonathan Fan Electrical Engineering
2003 Erik Nielsen Electrical Engineering
2002 Marc Schreiber Physics
2001 Christine McLeavy Physics
2000 Andrew Houck/Kenneth Wu Electrical Engineering/Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
1999 Gwendolyn Barriac/Daniel Russell Electrical Engineering/Computer Science
1998 McMahon Homer Reid Physics
1997 Pei-Lin Hsiung Electrical Engineering
1996 Adam Durst Electrical Engineering
1995 Dennis Yu Physics
1993 Ho Bun Chan Physics
1992 Scott Wunsch Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
1991 Arthur Mateous Physics
1990 Matthew Husman Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
1989 Jerry Chia-yung Chen Electrical Engineering
1988 John Michael Hergenrother Chemical Engineering
1987 Kathryn Diaroh Li Physics
1986 Stuart Alan Jacobson Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
1985 Julia Hsu Chemical Engineering