Arts at the Lewis center PA
Princeton Arts Bannerlightbox

Anne Carson & Sarah Shun-lien Bynum
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Anne Carson
Photo by Einar Falur Ingólfsson

Anne Carson is an internationally acclaimed writer. Her books include Decreation (2005), The Beauty of the Husband: A Fictional Essay in 29 Tangos (2001), winner of the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry; Economy of the Unlost (1999); Autobiography of Red (1998), shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the T.S. Eliot Prize; Plainwater: Essays and Poetry (1996); Glass, Irony and God (1995), shortlisted for the Forward Prize; and Goddesses And Wise Women (1992). Carson is also a classics scholar, the translator of If Not, Winter: Fragments of Sappho (2002), and the author of Eros the Bittersweet (1998). Her awards and honors include the Lannan Award, the Pushcart Prize, the Griffin Trust Award for Excellence in Poetry, a Guggenheim fellowship, and a MacArthur Fellowship.

Sarah Shun-lien Bynum by Leigh Dana Jackson
Photo by Leigh Dana Jackson

Sarah Shun-lien Bynum is the author of the novels Ms. Hempel Chronicles, finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, and Madeleine Is Sleeping, finalist for the National Book Award. The recipient of a Whiting Writers Award and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, she was recently named to the "20 Under 40" list of contemporary writers to watch by The New Yorker.

princeton university

News Feed | Events Feed | Contact Us | Credits
© 2014 The Trustees of Princeton University