Arts at the Lewis center PA
Princeton Arts Bannerlightbox

Richard Price & C.D. Wright
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Richard Price by Ralph Gibson
Photo by Ralph Gibson

Richard Price, novelist and screenwriter, was born and raised in the Bronx.  From the early 1970’s, Price earned his reputation as one of New York’s preeminent writers with The Wanderers (1974), Blood Brothers (1976), Ladies’ Man (1978), The Breaks (1983), Clockers (1992), which was nominated for the National Book Critic Circle Award, Freedomland (1998), Samaritan (2003), and most recently, Lush Life (2008). In addition to his literary career, Price has also written numerous screenplays including "The Color of Money," (1982) which was nominated for an Academy Award in Screenwriting, "Sea of Love,"(1989) and "Ransom" (1996). Richard Price was the recipient of the 1999 Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.  In 2007, he won an Edgar Award for his writing on the HBO series The Wire. In 2009 he was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He currently lives in New York with his family.

C.D. Wright by Forrest Gander
Photo by Forrest Gander

C.D. Wright, one of America’s most compelling and idiosyncratic poets, was born and raised in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas. She is a radically restless writer, a composer of hybrid works such as Deepstep Come Shining and distilled lyric collections such as Tremble. Every title takes her further inside her subjects and extends the means and measure of her reach. Wright is concerned with a density of language, setting up a chain reaction using the least amount of verbal material.

She has published a dozen collections, most recently, Rising, Falling, Hovering (2008). In 2007 Like Something Flying Backwards, New and Selected Poems was published in England. Her collaboration with photographer Deborah Luster, One Big Self: Prisoners of Louisiana was awarded the Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize; and a text edition was also released in 2007. Steal Away was on the international shortlist of the Griffin Trust Award. String Light won the 1992 Poetry Center book Award and Rising, Falling, Hovering won the 2009 International Griffin Prize for Poetry.

Wright is a recipient of a Macarthur Fellowship, a Lannan Literary Award, the Robert Creeley Award, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is the Israel J. Kapstein Professor at Brown University and lives outside of Providence with her husband, poet Forrest Gander.

princeton university

News Feed | Events Feed | Contact Us | Credits
© 2014 The Trustees of Princeton University