Arts at the Lewis center
Princeton Arts Bannerlightbox

Leonard L. Milberg '53 Secondary School Poetry Prize

2014 Recipients

Click here to read the 2014 winning poems

First Place:         
Adina Lasser, Electric
Taylors, SC
The Fine Art Center

Second Place:    
Tim D. Housand, Notes from a Park in Greenville 
Greenville, SC
South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts

Third Place: 
Katie Hibner, Will I Hang Owl-Man?
Mason, OH
Williams Mason High School

Honorable Mentions:
Nathan Blansett, Some Shape of You
Monroe, GA

Haley Kellner, Explanation
Greenville, SC

Noa Meerschwam, Porch-Sitter
New York, NY

Cameron Messinides, Weakness of Structure
Greenville, SC

Maron Tate, Between Now and Tomorrow
Greenville, SC

Clea S. Woodbury, Confirmation
New  York, NY

The Creative Writing Faculty at Princeton University 2013-14:

Susan Wheeler, Director
Susan Choi
Michael Dickman
Jeffrey Eugenides
Jennifer Gilmore
A.M. Homes
Steven Katz
Lawrence Konner
Nick Laird

Christina Lazaridi
Chang-rae Lee
Patrick McGrath
Maaza Mengiste
Paul Muldoon
Idra Novey
Joyce Carol Oates
Meghan O'Rourke
James Richardson

Tracy K. Smith
Wesley Stace
Darcey Steinke
Mario Vargas Llosa
Claire Vaye Watkins
Edmund White
Colson Whitehead
Monica Youn*

* Class of 1932 Visiting Lecturer

Past winners who have gone on to become Princeton University students include:

Daisy Bassen ’98 - "Winning the prize made me aware of the Creative Writing program at Princeton and showed me how warm and encouraging it is to young poets."

Caitlin Crounse ’99 - “It confirmed my most cherished, outlandish suspicion: that I might actually be a poet.”

Jon Queally ’00 - “Winning this prize meant that there was the possibility that I had something of value to say.”

Efe Balikcioglu ’10 - “Receiving the prize encouraged me to pursue improving my talent in every aspect here at Princeton.”

Kat Kulke '17 - "Winning the prize gave me a new faith in myself as a writer and opened my eyes to the vibrant writing community at Princeton."

princeton university

News Feed | Events Feed | Contact Us | Credits
© 2014 The Trustees of Princeton University