Arts at the Lewis center
Princeton Arts Bannerlightbox

Princeton Creative Writing Faculty Read at Labyrinth Books


Steve Runk     
Director of Communications
Lewis Center for the Arts

The three winners of Princeton University’s 2014 Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Secondary School Poetry Prize will read their winning poems along with three members of the Lewis Center for the Arts’ Program in Creative Writing faculty on Tuesday, March 25 at 6:00 p.m. at Labyrinth Books, 122 Nassau Street. The reading is free and open to the public.

The Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Secondary School Poetry Prize is an international poetry competition open to high school students in the eleventh grade.  Applicants submit up to three original poems they have written, which are then reviewed by a jury of faculty in the Program in Creative Writing with the sole criterion being the excellence of the work. This year the program received nearly 600 submissions from all fifty states and international entries from countries such as Australia, China, Germany, Greece, France, India, and New Zealand. The program is named for and supported by Princeton alumnus Leonard L. Milberg, Class of 1953.

“The work that these students present is quite remarkable,” notes Susan Wheeler, Director of the Program in Creative Writing. “The jury had a difficult time selecting the winners from among the many excellent submissions. It is wonderful to see so many students engaged in writing poetry.”

First prize winners receive an award of $500, second prize is $250, and third prize is $100. Six more received Honorable Mentions.  Students reading are Adina Lasser from Taylors, S.C.; Tim D. Housand from Greenville, S.C.; and Katie Hibner from Mason, O.H.

Reading with the student winners are Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and Howard G.B. Clark '21 Professor at Princeton University Paul Muldoon; poet, translator and Lecturer in Creative Writing in the Lewis Center Idra Novey; and poet and Professor of English and Creative Writing James Richardson.

Muldoon served as the founding chair of the Peter B. Lewis Center for the Arts. In 2007 he was appointed Poetry Editor of The New Yorker. Between 1999 and 2004 he was Professor of Poetry at the University of Oxford, where he is an honorary Fellow of Hertford College. Muldoon's main collections of poetry are New Weather (1973), Mules (1977), Why Brownlee Left (1980), Quoof (1983), Meeting The British (1987), Madoc: A Mystery (1990), The Annals of Chile (1994), Hay (1998), Poems 1968-1998 (2001), Moy Sand and Gravel (2002), Horse Latitudes (2006), and Maggot (2010). His awards include the 1994 T. S. Eliot Prize, the 1997 Irish Times Poetry Prize, the 2003 Pulitzer Prize, the 2003 Griffin International Prize for Excellence in Poetry, the 2004 American Ireland Fund Literary Award, the 2004 Shakespeare Prize, the 2005 Aspen Prize for Poetry, and the 2006 European Prize for Poetry. He has been described by The Times Literary Supplement as “the most significant English-language poet born since the second World War.”

Novey is the author of Exit; Civilian, a 2011 National Poetry Series Selection; and The Next Country, a finalist for the 2008 Foreword Book of the Year Award in poetry. She has received fellowships from the Poetry Society of America, the National Endowment for the Arts, the PEN Translation Fund, and Poets & Writers magazine. Her most recent translations include Clarice Lispector’s novel The Passion According to G.H. and Viscount Lascano Tegui’s novel in prose fragments On Elegance While Sleeping, shortlisted for the 2010 Best Translated Book Award. Her poems have appeared in Slate, The Paris Review, American Poetry Review, and elsewhere. Versions of her work have been published in Arabic, Bengali, Spanish and Portuguese.

Richardson graduated from Princeton in 1971 and received a Ph.D. in English from the University of Virginia in 1975. He joined the Creative Writing faculty in 1980 and teaches beginning and advanced poetry, a workshop specializing in short forms. Richardson's books include By the Numbers: Poems and Aphorisms, which was a 2010 National Book Award finalist and a Publishers Weekly "Best Book of 2010"; and Interglacial: New and Selected Poems and Aphorisms, which was a finalist for the 2004 National Book Critics Circle Award. Richardson is the recipient of the 2011 Jackson Poetry Prize, an award in literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Robert H. Winner, Cecil Hemley, and Emily Dickinson Awards of the Poetry Society of America, as well as fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Students, teachers and schools interested in the Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Secondary School Poetry Prize can find more information here. Submissions for the next round of the competition will be in November 2014.

The Lewis Center for the Arts encompasses Princeton University's academic programs in creative writing, dance, theater, and visual arts, as well as the interdisciplinary Princeton Atelier. The Center represents a major initiative of the University to fully embrace the arts as an essential part of the educational experience for all who study and teach at Princeton. Over 100 diverse public performances, exhibitions, readings, screenings and lectures are offered each year, most of them free or at a nominal ticket price.


Link to photo:
Photo caption:  Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and Princeton’s Howard G.B. Clark '21 University Professor in the Humanities Paul Muldoon who will read along with other Princeton faculty and winners of the 2014 Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Secondary School Poetry Prize on March 25 at Labyrinth Books
Photo credit:  Photo by Michael Potiker

princeton university

News Feed | Events Feed | Contact Us | Credits
© 2014 The Trustees of Princeton University