Arts at the Lewis center
Princeton Arts Bannerlightbox

National Book Award Finalists Announced; Books by James Richardson, Kathleen Graber, and alum Monica Youn '93 are among the poetry finalists


Marguerite d'Aprile-Smith    
Director of Communications
Lewis Center for the Arts

Books by Lewis Center for the Arts faculty, student and Hodder Fellow are on the list of finalists for the 2010 National Book Awards. By the Numbers (Copper Canyon Press) by James Richardson, Professor of Creative Writing, Ignatz (Four Way Books) by alumni Monica Youn '93, a former student of Professor Richardson, and The Eternal City (Princeton University Press) by former Lewis Center Hodder Fellow Kathleen Graber are among the five poetry finalists.  All of the poetry finalists are first-time nominees for the Award. By the Numbers is James Richardson’s seventh book of poetry, in addition to his two criitical works. The Eternal City by Kathleen Graber and Ignatz by attorney and Princeton alumni Monica Youn '93 are second collections.

Author Pat Conroy announced the 20 Finalists for the 2010 National Book Award at the Flannery O’Connor Childhood Home in Savannah, Georgia at noon today. The list includes a previous National Book Award Winner, two previous Finalists, 13 women --the largest number of women Finalists in a single year in the Award's history—and six books from small, independent presses. "The diversity of voices among the Finalists in all the categories makes it a particularly intriguing year for the National Book Award, " said National Book Foundation Executive Director Harold Augenbraum.

The winners in each category – Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People’s Literature- will be announced a t the 61st National Book Awards Benefit Dinner on Wednesday, November 17. Each Winner will receive a $10,000 and a bronze statue; each Finalist will receive $1,000 and a bronze medal. For a complete list of Finalists and more information about the National Book Awards Week events visit:

princeton university

News Feed | Events Feed | Contact Us | Credits
© 2014 The Trustees of Princeton University