Skip over navigation

News Archive

Archive – April 2011

We are delighted to welcome our incoming graduate student class, who will arrive in September 2011: Konstantin Bochkarev, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology Alex Howe, Ohio Wesleyan University Jose Garmilla, University of Illinois Burcin Icdem, Middle East Technical University, Ankara Wenhua (Wendy) Ju, Beijing University Sudhir Raskutti, University of Melbourne p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica} Ai-Lei Sun, National Taiwan Universit
Congratulations to our Astrophysics Major Sarah Wellons on being awarded the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship.  Sarah will be taking her NSF Fellowship to Harvard University next year where she will carry out her graduate studies in Astrophysics.   Congratulations Sarah!
We are delighted to announce the group of postdocs who will be coming to the Astrophysics Department in Fall 2011.  They are:  Jim Bosch: cosmological and computational aspects of weak lensing Damiano Caprioli: nonlinear shock acceleration theory Josh Dolence: magnetohydrodynamics of black hole accretion Renee Hlozek: supernova and CMB cosmology and ACT Markus Janson: extrasolar planets and SEEDS Mansi Kasliwal: Surveys for t