Skip over navigation

News Archive

Archive – April 2012

The list of those elected this year also includes Mel Brooks, Clint Eastwood, Hillary Clinton and Paul McCartney among many other notables. To see the list click here
Ruobing Dong has been awarded a Chinese Government Student Fellowship for 2012. This fellowship is open to Chinese citizens under the age of 40 who are currently enrolled in PhD programs at overseas universities. This year's fellowships have been awarded to 495 students in 29 countries and eleven fields, including science, law, economics, medicine and business.  Among these 495 students, nine, including Mr. Dong, have received the Special Award for Excellence. Mr. Dong is doin
Graduate student Yanfei Jiang has been awarded a Ray Grimm prize in computational physics for 2012. He is cited "for developing, implementing and testing advanced numerical algorithms for radiation magnetohydrodynamics on parallel high-performance computing systems, and for applying these methods to ab initio studies of magnetized accretion flows around black holes". Mr Jiang is carrying out his thesis work with James M. Stone. The Ray Grimm prize is awarded by Princeton&
Congratulations to our Astrophysics undergraduates who have been awarded a 2012 NSF Graduate Fellowship: Margaret Shaw  (Astro; '12) Anna Patej         (Physics; '12) Nick Hand          (Astro; '11.  UC Berkeley grad school) Zack Slepian      (Astro; '11.  Harvard grad school) Well done!  We are proud of you!