Skip over navigation

Astronomy Spring Colloquia 2011 Tuesday, 4:30pm-5:30pm, Peyton Hall auditorium


February 1, 2011

Speaker: Aaron Parsons (NSF Fellow, Townes Fellow, UC Berkeley)
Title: 21cm Cosmology: Probing the Epoch of Reionization
Email: aparsons@astron.berkeley.edu
Host: Brian Metzger
Arrival:  January 31
Departure:  February 2


February 8, 2011

Speaker: Debra Elmegreen
Title: Clumpy Galaxies in the Early Universe
Email: elmegreen@vassar.edu
Host: Dimitrios Giannios
Arrival: Morning of February 8
Departure: After Dinner


February 15, 2011

Speaker:

Kristen Menou

Title:  Electromagnetic Counterparts of Spacetime Sirens
Email:  Kristen@astro.columbia.edu
Host:  Dave 
Arrival:  Feb 15
Departure:  Feb 15


February 22, 2011

Speaker: Sean Solomon
Title: Exploring the planet Mercury by spacecraft: Seeking clues to the formation and evolution of the inner planets
Email: scs@dtm.ciw.edu
Host: Dave Spiegel
Arrival: February 21
Departure: February 22


March 1, 2011

Speaker: John Johnson
Title:  Exoplanets in Projection
Email: johnjohn@astro.caltech.edu
Host: Cullen Blake
Arrival: February 27
Departure: March 5


March 8, 2011

Speaker: Chuck Keeton
Title: Gravitational Lensing and Dark Matter Substructure
Email: keeton@physics.rutgers.edu
Host: Dave
Arrival:  Same day
Departure:  Same day


March 15, 2011

Speaker: Scott Ransom
Title:  Detecting gravitational waves (and doing other cool physics) with millisecond pulsars
Email: sransom@nrao.edu
Host: Brian Metzger
Arrival:  Monday
Departure:  Tuesday evening


March 22, 2011

Speaker: Dave Latham
Title:  Super Earths and Life
Email: dlatham@cfa.harvard.edu
Host: Cullen Blake
Arrival: March 21
Departure: March 23


March 29, 2011

Speaker: Beth Willman
Title:  "What is a Galaxy?'
Email: bwillman@haverford.edu
Host: Jason Nordhaus
Arrival: March 29
Departure: March 30


April 5, 2011

Speaker: Caroline Terquem
Title:  Dynamics of Planetary Systems
Email: caroline.terquem@iap.fr
Host: Dimitrios Giannios
Arrival:  Local
Departure:  


April 12, 2011

Speaker: Greg Bryan
Title: Gas cooling and accretion in clusters and galaxies
Email: gbryan@astro.columbia.edu
Host: Jason Nordhaus
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 


April 19, 2011

Speaker: Daniel Eisenstein
Title:  Baryon Acoustic Oscillations: A robust and Precise Route to the Cosmological  Distance Scale
Email:  deisenstein@cfa.harvard.edu
Host:  Kendrick
Arrival:  
Departure:  


April 26, 2011

Speaker:  Todd Thompson
Title:   A New Mechanism for "prompt" Ia Supernovae and  Compact Object Mergers
Email:  thompson@astronomy.ohio-state.edu
Host:  Stephanie Tonnesen
Arrival:   
Departure: 


May 3, 2011

A surprisingly simple model for solar rotation


Speaker:  Steve Balbus
Title:  A surprisingly simple model for solar rotation
Email:  balbus@astro.Princeton.EDU
Host:  Mindy Lipman
Arrival:  Local
Departure: