Skip over navigation

Astronomy Spring Colloquia 2010

Tuesday, 4:30pm-5:30pm, Peyton Hall auditorium:


February 2, 2010

Speaker: Marla Geha (Yale)
Title: "The Darkest Galxies"
Email:  marla.geha@yale.edu
Host:  Neta Bahcall
Arrival:  10:00am
Departure:  After Dinner


February 9, 2010

Speaker: Robert A. Benjamin (Univ. of Wisconsin)
Title:  "New Results in Galactic Cartography: The Stellar Disk and Bar(s) of the Milky Way"
Email:  benjamir@uww.edu
Host:  Bruce Draine
Arrival:  Feb 8 - Evening
Departure:  Feb 10 - Afternoon

February 16, 2010

Speaker: Pieter Van Dokkum (Yale )
Title:  "The remarkable history of massive galaxies"
Email: pieter.vandokkum yale.edu
Host:  Jerry Ostriker
Arrival:  Monday Evening
Departure:  Tuesday After Dinner

February 23, 2010

Speaker: Jenny Greene (Princeton)
Title:  "Beyond the M-sigma relation: The role of black holes in galaxy evolution"
Email:  jgreene@astro.princeton.edu
Host: Jerry Ostriker


March 2, 2010

Speaker: Mike Blanton ( NYU Astronomy)
Title: "The last eight billion years of galaxy growth"
Email: blanton@physics.nyu.edu
Host: Jerry Ostriker
Arrival:  IAS lunch
Departure:  After Dinner

March 9, 2010

Speaker: Paul Steinhardt
Title:

"Inflationary Cosmology on Trial"
This talk will be a perspective on the status of the  inflationary model of the universe as it stands today and the challenges it faces.

Email: steinh@Princeton.EDU
Host: Jerry Ostriker


March 23, 2010

Speaker: Mariska Kriek (Princeton) 
Title:  "The Different Life Cycles of Galaxies"
Email:  mariska@astro.princeton.edu
Host:  Jerry Ostriker

March 30, 2010

Speaker:

Paul Schechter (MIT)

Title: "The baryonic mass-to-light ratio in elliptical galaxies measured from the static gravitational micro-lensing of multiply imaged quasars"
Email: schech@achernar.mit.edu
Host: Neta Bahcall
Arrival:  March 29 
Departure:  March 31

April 6, 2010

Speaker: Kathryn Johnston (Columbia)
Title:  "Tales from Tails - Science Enabled by Large Scale Stellar Surveys"
Email: kvj @ astro.columbia.edu
Host: Michael Strauss
Arrival:  10:30am
Departure: April 7th, 5:00pm

April 13, 2010

Speaker:  Alexey Vikhlinin (Harvard Astronomy)
Title:  Recent Advances and Future Challenges for Using Galaxy Clusters in Cosmology
Email:  avikhlinin@head.cfa.harvard.edu
Host:  Jerry Ostriker
Arrival:  
Departure:  


April 20, 2010

Speaker:  Scott Tremaine (IAS)
Title:  "The centers of galaxies"
Email:  tremaine@ias.edu
Host:  Jerry Ostriker
   
   

April 27, 2010

Speaker:

Zoltan Haiman (Columbia)

Title: "Electromagnetic Signatures of Supermassive Black Hole Mergers"
Email:  zoltan@astro.columbia.edu
Host:  Michael Strauss
Arrival:   10:30am
Departure:  After Dinner

May 4, 2010

Speaker:  Josh Winn (MIT Physics)
Title:  "The Transits of Exoplanets"
Email:  jwinn@space.mit.edu
Host:  Ed Turner
Arrival:  May 3 - Evening
Departure:  May 5  - Morning


May 11, 2010

Spitzer Lecturer

Speaker:

Roger Romani (Stanford)
Title:  "A Galaxy full of Gamma-Ray Pulsars" (See spitzer lectures info)
Email:  
Host: David Spergel
 Arrival:  May 3
 Departure:  May 14


May 18, 2010

Speaker:

Charlie Conroy(Princeton University)
Title:  "Stellar Population Synthesis for the Future"
Email:  cconroy@astro.Princeton.EDU
Host: Jill Knapp
   
   


May 25, 2010

Speaker:

 Lisa Kaltenegger (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Title:
Email:  lkaltene@cfa.harvard.edu
Host: David Spergel
Arrival:  Sunday Eve
Departure:  Wednesday Morning