20th International Conference on
Computer Aided Verification (CAV) 2008
July 7 – 14, 2008
Princeton, USA

CAV Award Process

Here is a description of the full process governing the administration of the CAV Award. This will be published in the Journal of Record in which the citation for the first CAV Award is given.

CAV Award

An annual award, called the CAV Award, has been established
      " For a specific fundamental contribution
      or a series of outstanding contributions
      to the field of Computer-Aided Verification."

The cited contribution(s) must have been made not more recently than five years ago and not over twenty years ago. In addition, the contribution(s) should not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as the ACM Turing or Kanellakis Awards. (The nominee may have received such an award for other contributions.)

The award of $10,000 will be granted to an individual or group of individuals chosen by the Award Committee from a list of nominations. The Award Committee will select the nomination that most compellingly demonstrates a specific fundamental contribution or a series of outstanding contributions to the field of Computer Aided Verification, evidenced by its influence over the last five to twenty years, and ratified by a majority of the Award Committee. If the Award Committee does not so ratify any nomination, then no award shall be made in the given year.

The CAV Award shall be presented in an award ceremony at the Computer-Aided Verification Conference.

The Award Committee will provide a detailed citation that explains the basis of the award. This citation will be published together with selected papers from the conference in a forthcoming Special Issue of a Journal of Record. The present Journal of Record is the Springer journal Formal Methods in System Design.

The first CAV Award will be awarded in 2008. (Call for Nominations for the 2008 CAV Award.)

Anyone, with the exception of members of the Award Committee, is eligible to receive the Award.


Anyone can submit a nomination. The Award Committee can originate a nomination.

A nomination must state clearly the contribution(s), explain why the contribution is fundamental or the series of contributions is outstanding, and be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness.  Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution(s), and a detailed statement to justify the nomination.

A call for nominations will be part of the CAV call for papers, with the same deadline as for papers.

Nominations shall be sent to the Award Committee Chair.


The Award Committee consists of four individuals, each of whom shall have been an author of a paper accepted by CAV within the previous five years, unless this requirement is waived by the CAV Steering Committee. The members of the CAV Steering Committee are not eligible to serve on the Award Committee.

Two members of the Award Committee shall hold positions in the United States and two shall hold non-U.S. positions.

The four positions on the Award Committee are referred to as p_1, p_2, p_3 and p_4. The Steering Committee has appointed the first Award Committee to the respective positions.

The tenure of a member in position p_i will be i years.

In respective subsequent years, the member in position p_1 will retire, the member in position p_i (i>1) will assume position p_{i-1}, and the current Award Committee will select a member to fill position p_4 in the following year, by a majority vote of the current Award Committee.

The retiring member in position p_1 will not be selected for position p_4 in the following year, in order to assure turn-over in the Award Committee.

The member in position p_1 will serve as Chair of the Award Committee, with the responsibility of receiving nominations, distributing them to the other members of the Award Committee, and overseeing the selection processes for the Award and new member.

The Award Committee will take into account all individuals who have contributed to an awarded accomplishment, as well as independent discoveries of an awarded accomplishment, and assure that all individuals are treated fairly.

Awards will be for contributions not already honored by another major award.

The 2008 CAV Award Committee consisted of Thomas Henzinger (Chair), Randal Bryant, Orna Grumberg, and Moshe Vardi.

The 2009 CAV Award Committee consists of Randal Bryant (Chair), Orna Grumberg, Moshe Vardi, and Joseph Sifakis.


In the event of an unanticipated vacancy of a sitting Award Committee, the Steering Committee will assign someone to fill the vacated position.

Any circumstances that are unaccounted for through the above process will be resolved by the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee reserves the right to change the amount of the award, change the Journal of Record for citations or dissolve the Award Committee and cancel the CAV Award at any time.

The Steering Committee reserves the right to veto the selection by the Award Committee of a member for position p_4, in which case the Award Committee will select someone else.

Steering Committee