Skip over navigation

Edgar *71 and Carbonell *73 Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Department alumni Ruben G. Carbonell *73, Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State University, and Thomas F. Edgar *71, George T. and Gladys H. Abell Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), as announced in a press release issued today.  Carbonell was recognized “for research and innovation in multiphase reactor design, high-pressure thin-film coating, and novel bioseparation processes”, while Edgar was recognized “for contributions to mathematical modeling, optimization, and automatic control of chemical and microelectronics processes, and for professional leadership.”  Election to the National Academy of Engineering (established 1964) is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Tag(s): alumni