Skip over navigation

Alumna Lynn Loo *01 to Receive the 2006 AIChE Colburn Award

Yueh-Lin (Lynn) Loo (M.A. *98, Ph.D. *01) will receive the 2006 Allan P. Colburn Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers at its November Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Loo is currently an Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering and the General Dynamics Endowed Faculty Fellow in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. Loo’s research focuses on the emerging field of organic electronics, where polymeric and small-molecule organic materials are patterned through innovative schemes to produce new classes of electronic devices, such as large-area flexible displays and sensors for gas and liquid environments. Some of the novel materials under development in the Loo group include solution-processable organic and polymeric conductors and semiconductors, functional block copolymers, and conjugated self-assembled monolayers.

The Colburn Award is given for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute. Recipients must be under 36 years of age, and are recognized “for significant contributions to chemical engineering through publications”. In recent years, other Princeton alumni/ae who have received this prestigious award include Costas Maranas (2002), Jackie Ying (2000), Sangtae Kim (1993), and Alice Gast (1992). Current Princeton faculty who have received the award include Thanos Panagiotopoulos (1995) and Yannis Kevrekidis (1994).

Click here for the University of Texas press release.

The full list of previous Colburn recipients, dating back to 1945, may be viewed here.

Tag(s): Lynn Loo