Skip over navigation

Register and Carter Named Fellows of the American Chemical Society

Richard A. Register, Eugene Higgins Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and Emily A. Carter, Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor and Associated Faculty in CBE, were named Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS) this week.  The ACS Fellows Program was established “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and the Society.”  Register was recognized for co-inventing block copolymer lithography,  for elucidating structure-property relationships in copolymers with crystallizable blocks, and for serving the ACS as Technical Program Co-Chair.  Carter was recognized for rigorous development and application of the first principles of quantum mechanical theories for predicting properties of molecules and complex materials, and for serving the ACS by co-founding the Energy Subdivision of the ACS Physical Chemistry Division.  Also elected as a 2012 ACS Fellow was Edward C. Taylor, Jr., A. Barton Hepburn Professor Emeritus of Organic Chemistry, the inventor of Alimta (premetrexed) and former chair of the ACS Organic Division.  All new Fellows will be recognized at the ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia next month.  For additional links, see the story on the Princeton University homepage.