Skip over navigation


The department is pleased to announce that Marcus Spiegel, Class of 2017, has been awarded a Smith Newton Research Scholarship to work wtih Professor Kelly Caylor and Lyndon Estes, Associate Research Scholar.
The department is happy to announce that a former graduate student of CEE, James Guest, won the 2015 Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) Leonardo Da Vinci Award.  He was advised by Professor Jean H. Prevost, and is currently Associate Professor at  Whiting School of Engineering, John Hopkins University.
The Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE selected Professor Guest "for his pioneering research in the development and implementation of topological optimization methods
Three of the four groups featured on the News at Princeton homepage innovation forum story are from Civil and Environmental Engineering!

Lei Tao, Associate Research Scholar, working with Professor Mark Zondlo: new type of environmental sensor that measure real-time gas emissions.


Professor Branko Glisic: developing sheets of sensors able to monitor large areas of structures for stress and damage.

We are happy to announce that 2 members of Professor Branko Glisic's SHMlab have received a summer school fellowship and a sponsored internship.
Jack Reilly, a 1st year graduate student, was admitted to the prestigious Los Alamos Dynamics Summer School (LADSS) to be held June 8-August 7, 2015 at the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL).  LADSS admits only 15 upper division, under-graduate students or first-year graduate students from the entire country. Admission entitles the stu
Story on News at Princeton  website:
Story in the New York Times dated March 2, 2015:
Professor Eric F. Wood, the Susan Dod Brown Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering as announced on Thursday, February 5, 2015 by NAE President C.D. (Dan) Mote Jr.
Hiba Abdel-Jaber, Dorotea Sigurdardottir and Carlo Cappello are Finalists for SPIE/ASME Best Student Paper Award.
Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Kelly K. Caylor, has been appointed director of the Program in Environmental Studies (ENV Program).
Professor Ning Lin’s paper in Science “Evaluating Flood Resilience Strategies for Coastal Mega-Cities: Illustration with New York City” (Aerts et al. May 2014) won the Lloyd's Science of Risk 2014 Award in the Climate Change category. 
Details are at
Congratulations to Ning and her colleagues on this award!
Professor Michael Celia has received the 2015 Argyris Visiting Professorship, awarded by the University of Stuttgart through its Cluster of Excellence in Simulation Technology (SimTech).
After the devastation of Hurricane Sandy in 2012, a team of Princeton architects and climate scientists is exploring a new vision, with an emphasis on living with rising waters. The researchers aim for no less than a reinvention of flood hazard planning for the East Coast.
Denise Mauzerall has been appointed to serve as a member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board. The EPA SAB provides expert guidance that is essential to EPA’s ability to protect public health and safeguard the environment. Their advice assists the EPA to employ sound science in pursuit of resolutions to a broad range of urgent environmental matters.
Princeton University researchers have uncovered a previously unknown, and possibly substantial, source of the greenhouse gas methane to the Earth's atmosphere.
In the Discovery: Research at Princeton, 2014-2015 issue, there is an article about Professor Jaffe's group on their research about a new bacterium titled " Wetlands provide solutions for agricultural runoff".
The department is pleased  to announce that Professor Mark Zondlo received outstanding student evaluations for his CEE 311 Spring 2014 course.