Skip over navigation

Archive – November 2007

Professor Maria Garlock Receives the E. Lawrence Keyes, Jr./Emerson Electric Co. Junior Faculty Award.
Sarah L. Billington ('90), who is currently Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Stanford University, has been elected a Fellow of the American Concrete Institute (ACI). In addition, Eric Hines ('95) was awarded the Wason Medal for Most Meritorious Paper, and the Chester Paul Seiss Award for Excellence in Structural Research, by the ACI.
Professor Erik VanMarcke, a Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has received a $3 million grant to start a center for risk analysis within the Engineering School at Princeton.
Researchers in the CEE Department organized and hosted a workshop at Princeton University focused on computational modeling of geological sequestration of CO2.
Professor Michael Celia, Chair of the CEE Department, received the 2005 Hydrologic Sciences Award from the Hydrology Section of the AGU in a ceremony on December 5, 2005.
On November 29, 2005, the CEE Department hosted a workshop on incorporation of green design and sustainability in the CEE curriculum.
Dr. Jan Nordbotten, a postdoc who is splitting his time between the Mathematics Departmant at the University of Bergen and the CEE Department at Princeton University, has been named to the list of the top 100 young adults who will become influential leaders in Bergen.
Professor George Scherer has been named as the inaugural holder of the William L. Knapp Class of 1947 Professorship in Civil and Environmental Engineering. Professor Scherer is Director of the MMS Program in CEE, is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and is a distinguished teacher. For more information, click here: Knapp Report.
Congratulations are in order for Sinead MacNamara, CEE Graduate Student, who received an Excellence in Teaching Award from the Princeton University Engineering Council for her outstanding work as an AI in CEE 366 Design in Reinforced Structures.