Skip over navigation


With a trip to Spain as a high point, Princeton University undergraduates participated in a semester-long study of Spanish bridge design in the class "A Social and Multi-dimensional Exploration of Structures."
Natasha Turkmani, Class of 2017, will be receiving the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) scholarship from the Northern Virginia Post for the upcoming academic year.  One of the goals of the Society of American Military Engineers is to encourage highly qualified students to pursue an engineering curriculum, and the scholarship is a tangible way to help students achieve that goal.
The department wishes to add its congratulations on this well-deserved honor!
Professor Sigrid Adriaenssens has been awarded the Alfred Rheinstein '11 Award for Distinguished Research and Teaching by PU School of Engineering and Applied Science.
Our paper "An automated robust design methodology for suspended structures”. has been selected as the winner of the IASS Tsuboi Award in the category of the most outstanding paper in the Proceedings of the 2014 IASS-SLTE Symposium, Brasília, Brasil.
The department is pleased to announce that Demi Fang, Class of 2017, has received the American Society of Civil Engineers' (ASCE) Samuel Fletcher Tapman Scholarship.  The scholarship is available for award to ASCE student members.
Dr. Kris Wammer *03 has received the University of St. Thomas 2014 Undergraduate Research Award for Faculty.  This award is given annually to one faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to supporting undergraduate research and faculty-student collaboration.
Dr. Wammer, Chemistry Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is interested in the chemical and microbiological processes that affect the fate of organic contaminants in the environment.  Students in her l
On Wednesday, May 20, the MMS group of CEE, the Dept. of Homeland Security, and NIST hosted a workshop titled NY/NJ Regional Workshop on Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience: Bridging the Gap between State-of-the-Art and Practice.
Denisa Buzatu's vision for an environmentally sustainable building is a sort of shape-shifting origami façade. For her senior thesis, Buzatu, a civil and environmental engineering major, is designing and prototyping a structure that shades the façade of a building by folding and adapting its shape in response to sunlight.
One of CEE's sports teams, "The Dammed" soccer team is the champion of the Co-Recreational Soccer B league! The final was played against MAE, and the team won with a score of 2-0!
The department is pleased to announce that Denisa Buzatu, Class of 2015, is one of three winners of the Thornton Tomasetti Foundation National 2015-2016 Scholarship.
A short conversation on Scientific American Blogs that came out of Professor Kelly Caylor's presentation at the American Assocation for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) meeting in January 2015.
We are pleased to announce that Tessa Maurer, Class of 2013, has been awarded a National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship in pursuit of her master's degree at the University of California, Berkeley.  She was advised by Professor Kelly Caylor on the Environmental Engineering track.
The department is pleased to announce that Marcus Spiegel, Class of 2017, has been awarded a Smith Newton Research Scholarship to work wtih Professor Kelly Caylor and Lyndon Estes, Associate Research Scholar.
The department is happy to announce that a former graduate student of CEE, James Guest, won the 2015 Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) Leonardo Da Vinci Award.  He was advised by Professor Jean H. Prevost, and is currently Associate Professor at  Whiting School of Engineering, John Hopkins University.
Three of the four groups featured on the News at Princeton homepage innovation forum story are from Civil and Environmental Engineering!  They are Lei Tao, Professor Branko Glisic and Professor Kelly Caylor.