Skip over navigation


The department is pleased to announce that Denisa Buzatu, Class of 2015, is one of three winners of the Thornton Tomasetti Foundation National 2015-2016 Scholarship.
A short conversation on Scientific American Blogs that came out of Professor Kelly Caylor's presentation at the American Assocation for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) meeting in January 2015.
We are pleased to announce that Tessa Maurer, Class of 2013, has been awarded a National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship in pursuit of her master's degree at the University of California, Berkeley.  She was advised by Professor Kelly Caylor on the Environmental Engineering track.
The department is pleased to announce that Marcus Spiegel, Class of 2017, has been awarded a Smith Newton Research Scholarship to work wtih Professor Kelly Caylor and Lyndon Estes, Associate Research Scholar.
The department is happy to announce that a former graduate student of CEE, James Guest, won the 2015 Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) Leonardo Da Vinci Award.  He was advised by Professor Jean H. Prevost, and is currently Associate Professor at  Whiting School of Engineering, John Hopkins University.
Three of the four groups featured on the News at Princeton homepage innovation forum story are from Civil and Environmental Engineering!  They are Lei Tao, Professor Branko Glisic and Professor Kelly Caylor.
We are happy to announce that 2 members of Professor Branko Glisic's SHMlab have received a summer school fellowship and a sponsored internship.
Prof. Kelly Caylor's Paper with Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Colleagues Published in Science Magazine.
Professor Eric F. Wood, the Susan Dod Brown Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering as announced on Thursday, February 5, 2015 by NAE President C.D. (Dan) Mote Jr.
Hiba Abdel-Jaber, Dorotea Sigurdardottir and Carlo Cappello are Finalists for SPIE/ASME Best Student Paper Award.
Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Kelly K. Caylor, has been appointed director of the Program in Environmental Studies (ENV Program).
Professor Ning Lin’s paper in Science “Evaluating Flood Resilience Strategies for Coastal Mega-Cities: Illustration with New York City” (Aerts et al. May 2014) won the Lloyd's Science of Risk 2014 Award in the Climate Change category.
Professor Michael Celia has received the 2015 Argyris Visiting Professorship, awarded by the University of Stuttgart through its Cluster of Excellence in Simulation Technology (SimTech).
After the devastation of Hurricane Sandy in 2012, a team of Princeton architects and climate scientists is exploring a new vision, with an emphasis on living with rising waters. The researchers aim for no less than a reinvention of flood hazard planning for the East Coast.
Denise Mauzerall has been appointed to serve as a member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board. The EPA SAB provides expert guidance that is essential to EPA’s ability to protect public health and safeguard the environment. Their advice assists the EPA to employ sound science in pursuit of resolutions to a broad range of urgent environmental matters.