Skip over navigation

Taylor to receive NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society

Edward C. TaylorJanuary 7, 2013. Washington, D.C. The National Academy of Sciences announced today that it will honor 18 individuals with awards in recognition of their outstanding scientific achievements in a wide range of fields spanning the physical, biological, and social sciences. Among the the recipients for 2013 are two Princeton faculty: Asif A. Ghazanfar, associate professor of neuroscience and psychology at Princeton University and Edward C. Taylor, professor (emeritus) of chemistry.

Edward C. Taylor, the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Organic Chemistry Emeritus at Princeton University, is the recipient of the NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society. Taylor is being honored for contributions to heterocyclic chemistry that led to the development of the new-generation antifolate pemetrexed (AlimtaTM). Pemetrexed exhibits unprecedented activity against a variety of solid tumors and is now in use in more than 100 countries. It is approved for the treatment of mesothelioma and non-small cell lung cancer and is in multiple further clinical trials for a wide range of solid tumors. The award, established by E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., recognizes contributions to chemistry, either in fundamental science or its application, that clearly satisfy a societal need. The award comes with a $20,000 prize and is presented in alternate years to chemists working in industry and to those in academia, government, and nonprofit organizations.

The recipients will be honored in a ceremony on Sunday, April 28, during the Academy's 150th annual meeting.

Click for the full press release from the National Academy of Sciences…