Skip over navigation

Archive – April 2012

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Mohammad Seyedsayamdost will join the chemistry faculty this fall as assistant professor. Seyedsayamdost received his Ph.D. from MIT under the direction of JoAnne Stubbe, and completed post-doctoral studies at the Harvard Medical School under the direction of Jon Clardy. His research addresses important problems in chemical biology and mechanistic enzymology. Seyedsayamdost will investigate microbial symbiotic interactions as a means to d
4/20/2012 London – David MacMillan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and chairman of the department, has been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society. Fellows and Foreign Members, who are elected for life on the basis of scientific excellence, have included Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Ernest Rutherford, Albert Einstein, Dorothy Hodgkin, Francis Crick, James Watson and Stephen Hawking. Today there are approximately 1,500 Fellows and Foreign Mem
4/18/12 Princeton, NJ - Fifth-year graduate student Adam Hopkins, in the group of professor Salvatore Torquato, has received Princeton University's 2012 Ray Grimm Memorial Prize in Computational Physics in recognition of his outstanding research achievements, academic merit and creativity. This distinction is accompanied by an award of $4,000. The award citation specifically acknowledges Hopkins, "for his contributions to the field of computational physics that span from fundamental in
4/17/2012 Cambridge, MA – David MacMillan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and chairman of the department, was elected into membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences today. The class of 2012 includes 220 new members, continuing a 230-plus year history of recognizing some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders. One of the nation's most prestigio
April 3, 2012. Four first-year Department of Chemistry graduate students have been announced as award recipients of this year's NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program. The awardees are: Esther Frederick from Yeshiva University, in the Bernasek Group; Max Friedfeld from University of Virginia, in the Chirik Group; Erin Gray from Furman University, in the Doyle Group; and Jake Herb from Muhlenberg College, in the Bocarsly Group. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and su