Skip over navigation

Stone/Davis Prize

With a view to encourage sophisticated training and experience in historical research among history undergraduates, the Davis Center awards a limited number of Lawrence Stone and Shelby Cullom Davis prize fellowships to rising seniors for their senior thesis projects. To be considered, a student must have compiled an excellent record in departmental work, and must be nominated by a member of the department. The nomination letter should be accompanied by a detailed research plan written by the student. Special consideration will be given to those whose work requires extensive use of archival sources distant from Princeton and from the student's home. Award recipients will receive a cash grant of $6,000. The last date of application with all supporting materials is Monday, March 30 , 2015.

For further information, contact the Manager, Davis Center

Prize winners for 2013-14

Brett Diehl:   Controlling Politics in the Periphery: The Growth of Rio de Janeiro Special Police, 1902-1930

Lekha Kanchinadam:   Monuments and Memorials:   The Public History of Moby-Dick's Legacy

Nicholas Williams:   The New England Kitchen and the Intersections of Women, Science, Food, Social Reform, and Working Class Families, 1890-1894

Prize winners for 2012-13

Maryam Patton:  Intellectual Exchange between the Ottoman World and Early Modern Europe

Blaire Bloxom: The Biblical Roots of the International Justice Movement

Max Botstein:  The Thirty Year War in German Memory in the 19th and 20th Centuries

Ashley Chiang:  Evolution of the British Wartime Mail from the 1850's to the Outbreak of the First World War

Lorenzo McClellan:  Modernity in the Thought of Ranke, Burckhardt, and Gregorovius

Steven Server: Mirrors in the Sand: Politics, Culture, and the US/Mexican Border

Prize winners for 2011-12:

Nicholas Bellinson: The World on Display: Athanasius Kirchner's Museum and the Creation of a Seventeenth-Century Weltbild

Madeline McMahon:
Historical Scholarship and Protestant Confessional Identity in Sixteenth-Century England

Prize winners for 2010-11:

Ting-Fung Chan:  The Prussian World of Dreams: German Imperialism, Nationalism and the Orientalist Scholarship of Theodor Noldeke

Lucy Reeder:  A Study of African American Soldiers Stationed in Great Britain during World War II

Emily Rutherford: John Addington Symonds and the Making of Male Homosexual Culture, 1870-1900

Sariswathi Shukla: Harpsichord Arrangements of French Opera, 1760-1775

Past winners