Skip over navigation
Princeton University
Office of the Dean of the Faculty

Pictures of Academic Deans and Chairs

Academic Year 2013-2014

 

African American Studies, Center for


Eddie S. Glaude Jr.


William S. Tod Professor of Religion and African American Studies. Chair, Center for African American Studies.

esglaude@Princeton.EDU

609-258-1419
103 Stanhope Hall

Eddie S. Glaude Jr.

Wallace D. Best


Professor of Religion and African American Studies.

wbest@Princeton.EDU

609-258-0057
131 1879 Hall

Wallace D. Best
 

Anthropology, Department of


Carol J. Greenhouse


Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor of Anthropology. Chair, Department of Anthropology.

cgreenho@Princeton.EDU

609-258-7369
125 Aaron Burr Hall

Carol J. Greenhouse
 

Architecture, School of


Alejandro Zaera-Polo


Dean, School of Architecture. Professor of Architecture.

alzp@Princeton.EDU

609-258-3737
S110 Architecture Building

Alejandro Zaera-Polo
 

Art and Archaeology, Department of


Jerome Silbergeld


P. Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Professor in Chinese Art. Professor of Art and Archaeology. Director, P.Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Center for East Asian Art.

jsil@Princeton.EDU

609-258-6249
406 McCormick Hall

Jerome Silbergeld
 

Astrophysical Sciences, Department of


David N. Spergel


Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation. Professor of Astrophysical Sciences. Chair, Department of Astrophysical Sciences.

dns@astro.Princeton.EDU

609-258-3589
113 Peyton Hall

David N. Spergel
 

Chemical Engineering, Department of


Richard A. Register


Eugene Higgins Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering. Chair, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.

register@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4691
A217 Engineering Quad A-Wing

Richard A. Register
 

Chemistry, Department of


David W. MacMillan


James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry. Chair, Department of Chemistry.

dmacmill@Princeton.EDU

609-258-3916
Frick Chemistry Laboratory

David W. MacMillan
 

Civil and Environmental Engineering, Department of


James A. Smith


William and Edna Macaleer Professor of Engineering and Applied Science. Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

jsmith@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4615
E413 Engineering Quad E-Wing

James A. Smith
 

Classics, Department of


Edward J. Champlin


Cotsen Professor of Humanities. Professor of Classics. Chair, Department of Classics.

champlin@Princeton.EDU

609-258-3959
151 East Pyne Building

Edward J. Champlin
 

Comparative Literature, Department of


Leonard Barkan


Class of 1943 University Professor of Comparative Literature.

lbarkan@Princeton.EDU

609-258-7201
129 East Pyne Building

Leonard Barkan
 

Computer Science, Department of


Andrew W. Appel


Eugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science. Chair, Department of Computer Science.

appel@cs.Princeton.EDU

609-258-4627
222 Computer Science Building

Andrew W. Appel

Jennifer L. Rexford


Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor in Engineering. Professor of Computer Science.

jrex@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5182
306 Computer Science Building

Jennifer L. Rexford
 

East Asian Studies, Department of


Martin Kern


Greg ('84) and Joanna (P13) Zeluck Professor in Asian Studies. Professor of East Asian Studies. Chair, Department of East Asian Studies.

mkern@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5554
210 Jones Hall

Martin Kern
 

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Department of


Daniel I. Rubenstein


Class of 1877 Professor of Zoology. Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.

dir@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5698
210 Eno Hall

Daniel I. Rubenstein
 

Economics, Department of


Gene M. Grossman


Jacob Viner Professor of International Economics. Professor of Economics and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Director, International Economics Section.

grossman@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4823
300 Fisher Hall

Gene M. Grossman
 

Electrical Engineering, Department of


Sharad Malik


George Van Ness Lothrop Professor in Engineering. Professor of Electrical Engineering. Chair, Department of Electrical Engineering.

sharad@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4625
B224 Engineering Quad B-Wing

Sharad Malik
 

Engineering and Applied Science, School of


H. Vincent Poor


Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science. Michael Henry Strater University Professor of Electrical Engineering.

poor@Princeton.EDU

609-258-2260
C226 Engineering Quad C-Wing

H. Vincent Poor

Pablo G. Debenedetti


Dean for Research. Class of 1950 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science. Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering.

pdebene@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5480
107 91 Prospect Ave.

Pablo G. Debenedetti
 

English, Department of


William A. Gleason


Professor of English. Chair, Department of English.

bgleason@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4056
71 McCosh Hall

William A. Gleason

Daphne A. Brooks









 

French and Italian, Department of


F. Nick Nesbitt


Professor of French and Italian. Chair, Department of French and Italian.

fnesbitt@Princeton.EDU

609-258-7186
362 East Pyne Building

F. Nick Nesbitt
 

Geosciences, Department of


Bess B. Ward


William J. Sinclair Professor of Geosciences. Chair, Department of Geosciences.

bbw@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5150
217 Guyot Hall

Bess B. Ward

Thomas S. Duffy


Professor of Geosciences. Associate Chair, Department of Geosciences.

duffy@Princeton.EDU

609-258-6769
218 Guyot Hall

 

German, Department of


Nikolaus Wegmann


Professor of German. Chair, Department of German.

nwegmann@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4145
219 East Pyne Building

Nikolaus Wegmann
 

History, Department of


William C. Jordan


Dayton-Stockton Professor of History. Chair, Department of History.

wchester@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4150
132 Dickinson Hall

William C. Jordan
 

Humanities, Council of the


Gideon A. Rosen


Stuart Professor of Philosophy.

grosen@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5505
124 1879 Hall

Gideon A. Rosen
 

Lewis Center for the Arts


Michael W. Cadden


Senior Lecturer in Theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts. Chair, Lewis Center for the Arts.

mcadden@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4659
205 185 Nassau St.

Michael W. Cadden
 

Mathematics, Department of


David Gabai


Hughes-Rogers Professor of Mathematics. Chair, Department of Mathematics.

gabai@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4195
502 Fine Hall

David Gabai

Christopher M. Skinner


Professor of Mathematics.

cmcls@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4193
501 Fine Hall

 

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Department of


Alexander J. Smits


Eugene Higgins Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

asmits@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5117
D224 Engineering Quad D-Wing

Alexander J. Smits
 

Molecular Biology, Department of


Bonnie L. Bassler


Squibb Professor in Molecular Biology. Chair, Department of Molecular Biology.

bbassler@Princeton.EDU

609-258-2857
329 Lewis Thomas Lab

Bonnie L. Bassler

Jean E. Schwarzbauer


Professor of Molecular Biology. Associate Chair, Department of Molecular Biology.

jschwarz@Princeton.EDU

609-258-2893
315 Schultz Laboratory

Jean E. Schwarzbauer
 

Music, Department of


Steven Mackey


Professor of Music. Chair, Department of Music.

steve@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4243
316 Woolworth Music Center

Steven Mackey
 

Near Eastern Studies, Department of


M. Sukru Hanioglu


Garrett Professor in Foreign Affairs. Professor of Near Eastern Studies.

hanioglu@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5361
103 Jones Hall

M. Sukru Hanioglu
 

Operations Research and Financial Engineering, Department of


Jianqing Fan


Frederick L. Moore, Class of 1918, Professor in Finance. Professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering. Chair, Department of Operations Research and Financial Engineering. Director, Committee for Statistical Studies.

jqfan@Princeton.EDU

609-258-7924
102 26 Prospect Ave.

Jianqing Fan
 

Philosophy, Department of


Michael Smith


McCosh Professor of Philosophy. Chair, Department of Philosophy.

msmith@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4306
113 1879 Hall

Michael Smith

Anna M. Faiola


Department Manager, Philosophy.

afaiola@Princeton.EDU

609-258-6162
218 1879 Hall

 

Physics, Department of


Lyman A. Page Jr.


Henry De Wolf Smyth Professor of Physics. Chair, Department of Physics. Director, Program in Biophysics.

page@Princeton.EDU

609-258-5578
217 Jadwin Hall

Lyman A. Page Jr.
 

Politics, Department of


Nolan M. McCarty


Susan Dod Brown Professor of Politics and Public Affairs. Chair, Department of Politics.

nmccarty@Princeton.EDU

609-258-2160
135 Corwin Hall

Nolan M. McCarty
 

Psychology, Department of

 

Religion, Department of


Leora F. Batnitzky


Ronald O. Perelman Professor of Jewish Studies. Professor of Religion. Chair, Department of Religion.

batnitzk@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4487
237 1879 Hall

Leora F. Batnitzky
 

Slavic Languages and Literatures, Department of


Michael A. Wachtel


Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures. Chair, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures.

wachtel@Princeton.EDU

609-258-0114
225 East Pyne Building

Michael A. Wachtel

Caryl Emerson


A. Watson Armour, III, University Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures. Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature.

cemerson@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4730
241 East Pyne Building

Caryl Emerson
 

Sociology, Department of


Miguel A. Centeno


Musgrave Professor of Sociology. Professor of Sociology and International Affairs. Chair, Department of Sociology.

cenmiga@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4452
102 Wallace Hall

Miguel A. Centeno
 

Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Cultures, Department of


Gabriela Nouzeilles


Emory L. Ford Professor of Spanish. Professor of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Cultures. Chair, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Languages.

gnouzeil@Princeton.EDU

609-258-8176
348 East Pyne Building

Gabriela Nouzeilles

Marina S. Brownlee


Robert Schirmer Professor of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Cultures and Comparative Literature. Chair, Committee for Renaissance Studies.

msb@Princeton.EDU

609-258-7798
342 East Pyne Building

Marina S. Brownlee
 

Woodrow Wilson School


Cecilia E. Rouse


Dean, Woodrow Wilson School. Lawrence and Shirley Katzman and Lewis and Anna Ernst Professor in the Economics of Education. Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School.

rouse@Princeton.EDU

609-258-4800
424 Robertson Hall

Cecilia E. Rouse