Skip over navigation

About the Program

The European Union Program at Princeton sponsors events and activities at Princeton University relating to the European Union and European politics generally. These include lectures and seminars by outside speakers, research conferences, policy meetings, public commentary, visiting fellows, graduate and undergraduate student activities, course development, and informational outreach.
Princeton's concentration of academic resources related to the EU is unmatched among major American universities. Twenty Princeton faculty members devote a significant portion of their research to the European Union, and at least nine more work on related aspects of modern European history and politics. In addition, numerous programs bring post-doctoral and professorial fellows to Princeton, a number of whom have interests in EU politics
Princeton is one of the world's leading research universities. Both its political science and international relations faculties, as well as its public policy school (the Woodrow Wilson School for Public and International affairs) are ranked among the top institutions of their kind in America. Associates from neighboring regional universities regularly participate in Princeton EU program activities.
The EU Program was founded in 2004 and is supported by grants from the Princeton Institute on International and Regional Studies, the Niehaus Center for Globalization and Governance, and the Woodrow Wilson School
The EU Program welcomes proposals for collaboration from students, scholars and fellows. Our explicit goal is to serve as the center of a university-wide network in EU studies and to that end, we aim to organize 100% of our activities in co-sponsorship and collaboration with other Princeton University institutions.
In 2008, the EU Program started offering Princeton undergraduates the opportunity of becoming Undergraduate Fellow. It also created a EU Program Undergraduate Exploratory Research Fellowship and a EU Program prize for Best Senior Thesis on the European Union.
Andrew Moravcsik and Sophie Meunier