Skip over navigation

Prof. Daniel Sigman named co-recipient of 2012 EAG Science Innovation Award

Prof. Daniel SigmanThe 2012 European Association of Geochemistry (EAG) Science Innovation Award has been announced in honor of Professor Daniel Sigman for his work in Biogeochemistry. The award is given to scientists who have currently made a significant and visionary breakthrough in geochemistry. This award is given in honor of Heinz Lowenstam, a pioneer in biomineralization, and one of the first biogeochemists.

About the EAG Science Innovation Award

The EAG Science Innovation Award is comprised of a medal plus certificate and is bestowed to scientists who recently make a particularly important and innovative breakthrough in geochemistry. Their geochemical research is determined to be highly original and must contribute to our understanding of the natural behavior of the Earth or planets.

Prof. Sigman’s award will be announced in the April issue of Elements; including a short article about him written by the Chair of the Science Innovation Award Committee, Kai-Uwe Hinrichs.

Prof. Sigman will receive his award at the 2012 Goldschmidt Conference in Montreal, Canada, June 24-29, 2012: