Skip over navigation


On August 13, 2019, the U.S. Government Executive Media Group announced George J. Magee George J. Magee Professor Emeritus Jorge Sarmiento a recipient of a Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Award (Teddies) in the category of “Partners.”
Congratulations to Wenbo Wu *19 for receiving the American Geophysical Union’s Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Graduate Research Award for his graduate research.
The Princeton Environmental Institute (PEI) has selected six Princeton University graduate students for research awards supporting projects related to climate science, energy solutions, environmental policy and other environmental topics. Hannah Bradley, Makoto Lalwani, Katja Luxem, Ian Miller, and Liana Wait were named as the 2019 recipients of the Walbridge Fund Graduate Award for Environmental Research.
The Princeton Environmental Institute (PEI) has selected nine graduate students representing six departments and programs as 2019 recipients of the Mary and Randall Hack ’69 Graduate Awards for Water and the Environment, including GEO grads Jack Murphy and Danielle Schlesinger.
Geosciences/AOS Ph.D. candidates Abigale Wyatt and Allison Hogikyan have each received a fellowship award in the 2019 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program.
Laure Resplandy, an assistant professor in Geosciences and Princeton Environmental Institute, awarded prestigious 2019 Sloan Research Fellowship, a highly competitive grant given to outstanding young scholars working at the frontiers of their fields.
Visiting Professor and Alumna Zhu Mao *09, USTC, China, will receive the 2018 Mineral and Rock Physics Early Career Award at AGU’s Fall Meeting 2018, to be held 10–14 December in Washington, D. C. Mao is currently working with the Duffy Research Group.
The Department of Geosciences congratulates the 10 Ph.D. candidates who are the newest members of PEI's Princeton Climate and Energy Scholars (PECS) program. Xuyuan (Ellen) Ai, Katja Luxem and Jack Murphy from our department are among the 10 announced.
At the Department’s annual fall picnic last Friday, two graduate students were awarded Arnold Guyot Teaching Prizes for their work as Assistants in Instruction. The awards recognize excellence in instruction, contribution to curriculum, and overall contribution to the teaching mission of the Department.