News at Princeton

Monday, April 24, 2017

Web Stories

Distinguished Fellows named by Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Francis "Rip" Perkins and Charles Neumeyer, researchers at the U.S. Department of Energy's Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL), have been named the 2000 PPPL Distinguished Research and Engineering Fellows. (Full details, PPPL News Release )

Perkins, who is on long-term assignment at General Atomics in San Diego, was recognized for his outstanding contributions in many critical areas of plasma physics research with applications in fusion, basic plasma physics experiments, and ionospheric physics, and for leadership in an international collaborative effort to document and assess the physics basis of a next-step burning plasma experiment. He was further honored for contributing prominently to graduate education in plasma physics.

Neumeyer, the lead project engineer for the National Spherical Torus Experiment (NSTX), was cited for contributions and technical leadership of the engineering effort to design power systems for several magnetic fusion devices, including the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor, the Tokamak Physics Experiment, and NSTX, and for extraordinary creativity and accomplishments in the development of control systems for fusion devices. NSTX began operating at PPPL in 1999.

For more information, visit PPPL .

Contact: Justin Harmon (609) 258-3601

Back To Top