News at Princeton

Friday, April 21, 2017

Web Stories

Physicists receive American Physical Society honors

Edmund Synakowski and Randy Wilson, both physicists at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory , recently received honors from the American Physical Society. The society gave Synakowski the 2001 Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research and named Wilson a Fellow.

Synakowski was cited for his contributions to experiments that demonstrated a novel means of suppressing turbulence and the loss of heat from plasmas -- the hot, ionized gases used as fuels for the production of fusion energy. He spearheaded research on this subject at the lab on the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor. These efforts led to joint research with physicists at General Atomics in San Diego, Calif., with whom he shared the award.

Wilson was named an American Physical Society Fellow in recognition of his major pioneering contributions to understanding the use of radio-frequency waves to heat and drive an electric current in fusion plasmas. The honor is a lifetime appointment. The society's rules limit the maximum number of Fellows selected each year to be no more than half of 1 percent of the division membership.

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top