News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

Oates to receive distinguished author award

Joyce Carol Oates has been selected by the Tulsa Library Trust as recipient of the 2002 Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award. She will receive a $25,000 cash prize and an engraved crystal book. The award, which was announced Tuesday, will be presented in Tulsa in December.

Oates, the Roger S. Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities at Princeton University, has written several novels, including the recent "Faithless: Tales of Transgression" (2001). She also has written poetry, drama and literary criticism.

The library trust has given out the Helmerich award annually since 1985. Past winners include Toni Morrison , the Goheen Professor in the Humanities at Princeton, as well as Margaret Atwood, John Hope Franklin, Oliver Sacks, Norman Mailer, Neil Simon and Eudora Welty.

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top