News at Princeton

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Web Stories

Three mathematics faculty members honored

Three faculty members in the Department of Mathematics have been honored in recent months.

Elliott Lieb, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics and professor of mathematical physics, was awarded the Henri Poincare Prize by the International Association of Mathematical Physics. He was honored "for his lifetime achievements in quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics and analysis."

Weinan E, professor of mathematics and applied and computational mathematics, was awarded the International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics Collatz Prize for 2003. This prize provides international recognition to individual scientists under 42 years of age for outstanding work on industrial and applied mathematics.

Martin Kruskal, professor emeritus of mathematics and astrophysical sciences, was awarded the Maxwell Prize for 2003 by the Institute of Mathematics and Its Applications. The institute is a professional and learned society for qualified and practicing mathematicians.

Contact: Eric Quinones (609) 258-3601

Back To Top