News at Princeton

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Web Stories

Barkan earns Zabel award for writing

Leonard Barkan, the Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor of Comparative Literature, has won the Morton Dawen Zabel Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

The award, intended to recognize a "progressive, original and experimental writer," is given in biennial sequence to a poet, a fiction writer and a critic. Other critics who have won the award over the years are George Steiner, Clement Greenberg, Edward Said and Eve Sedgwick. Princeton faculty members C.K. Williams and Yusef Komunyakaa also have won the award for their poetry.

Barkan, who is director of Princeton's Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts , specializes in Renaissance literature and art history, as well as drama. His publications include "Unearthing the Past: Archaeology and Aesthetics in the Making of Renaissance Culture" (Yale University Press, 2000), which has earned five major prizes.

The academy was founded in 1898 to "foster, assist and sustain an interest in literature, music and the fine arts." Each year, it honors some 50 artists, architects, writers and composers with awards.

Contact: Eric Quinones (609) 258-3601

Back To Top