News at Princeton

Monday, May 04, 2015

Faculty News

FACULTY HONOR: Burrows, Deaton elected to National Academy of Sciences

Adam Burrows, a professor of astrophysical sciences and director of the Program in Planets and Life, and Angus Deaton, the Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor of International Affairs and a professor of economics and international affairs, have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. They were among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates elected Tuesday, April 28, in recognition of their achievements in original research.

Read Story

FACULTY HONOR: Weiss named Andrew Carnegie Fellow

Max Weiss, an associate professor of history and Near Eastern studies, has been named to the inaugural class of Andrew Carnegie Fellows. Each of the 32 scholars in the social sciences and humanities will receive up to $200,000 to support research and writing. Weiss specializes in the social, cultural and intellectual history of the modern Middle East. His research interests include transformations of law and society, religious culture, history of ideas, and the translation of contemporary Arabic literature into English.

Read Story

FACULTY HONOR: Three Princeton professors inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Three Princeton University professors were among 197 influential artists, scientists, scholars, authors and institutional leaders inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The inductees from Princeton are: Sanjeev Arora, the Charles C. Fitzmorris Professor in Computer Science; Martin Gilens, professor of politics; and Ali Yazdani, professor of physics. Founded in 1780, the academy is one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious learned societies. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 10 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Read Story

Faculty adopts statement affirming commitment to freedom of expression at Princeton

The Princeton faculty adopted a statement Monday, April 6, affirming the University's commitment to the principles of academic freedom and freedom of expression as essential to the University's educational mission.

Read Story

FACULTY HONOR: Tienda elected to National Academy of Education

Marta Tienda, the Maurice P. During Professor of Demographic Studies, a professor of sociology and public affairs, and director of the Program in Latino Studies, has been elected to the National Academy of Education for her outstanding scholarship related to education. The selection of 16 new members was announced Thursday, March 19.

Read Story

FACULTY AWARD: Grossman receives Onassis Prize for International Trade

Gene Grossman, the Jacob Viner Professor of International Economics and a professor of economics and international affairs, has been awarded the 2015 Onassis Prize for International Trade in recognition of his contributions to strategic trade policy, environmental economics and the economics of offshoring. The prize, which comes with a $200,000 award, was announced Friday, March 20, in London.

Read Story

FACULTY HONOR: Wood elected to National Academy of Engineering for water cycle research

Eric Wood, the Susan Dod Brown Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest career honors for engineers. He was recognized by the academy "for development of land surface models and use of remote sensing for hydrologic modeling and prediction." He is among 67 new members and 12 foreign members elected to the academy this year; election reflects significant contribution to engineering research, practice or education.

Read Story

Tank receives Brain Prize for advance in microscopy

David Tank, the Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology at Princeton, has been named one of four winners of the Brain Prize, an honor that recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions to brain research.

Read Story

FACULTY AWARD: Five Princeton faculty named 2015 Sloan Fellows

Five Princeton University faculty members were among the 126 researchers from the United States and Canada named as 2015 Sloan Research Fellows. Awarded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the $50,000 fellowships recognize promising early-career scientists who have been nominated by their colleagues. The new fellows from Princeton are: Sébastien Bubeck, an assistant professor of operations research and financial engineering; Oleg Itskhoki, an assistant professor of of economics and international affairs; Greg Kaplan, an assistant professor of economics; Corina Tarnita, an assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; and Vlad Vicol, an assistant professor of mathematics.

Read Story

RESEARCH AWARD: NSF renews funds for Princeton Center for Complex Materials

Princeton University was one of 12 institutions nationwide to receive a total of $56 million in funds from the National Science Foundation to support Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers (MRSECs). The award renews the NSF's existing support for the Princeton Center for Complex Materials (PCCM) through October 2020, and includes $6.39 million for at least the first two years.

Read Story

Follow Us On

  1. YouTube
  2. Facebook
  3. iTunes
  4. Twitter

Faculty Highlights