Skip over navigation

Faculty Council on Teaching and Learning

Rapid changes in modes of teaching and learning at Princeton has inspired the formation of a new Council on Teaching and Learning, approved at the January 2014 meeting of the Princeton Faculty. The chair of the Council works closely with the leadership of the Office of the Dean of the College and the McGraw Center to develop priorities and identify matters that require extended consideration. The Council began its work in the 2014-15 Academic Year with a strategic review of the University’s online course initiative, pursuant to the recommendations of the ad hoc Committee on On-Line Courses. The Council's work during the 2015-16 Academic Year will focus on a review of the process and purpose of course evaluations, in response to a charge from Dean of the College and Annan Professor in English and Theater Jill Dolan. Among the other many areas that the Council might address are the following:
  • Innovative uses of instructional technology 
  • Academic support for undergraduate students
  • Collaborative exercises and academic integrity
  • Classroom design
  • Accessibility of curricular pathways into certain disciplines

Current Council Members:

Elizabeth (Betsy) Armstrong, Associate Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School
Ruha Benjamin, Assistant Professor of African American Studies
Elizabeth Colagiuri, Deputy Dean of the College, Office of the Dean of the College
Cole Crittenden, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Office of the Dean of the Graduate School
Aarti Gupta, Professor of Computer Science
Lisa Herschbach, Director of the McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning, Associate Dean of the College
Jeff Himpele, Director of Teaching Initiatives and Programs, McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning
Fred Hughson, Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Molecular Biology
Jeremy Kasdin, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Vice Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science
Adam Maloof, Associate Professor of Geosciences, Department of Geosciences
Harvey Rosen, John L. Weinberg Professor of Economics and Business Policy, Department of Economics, Chair of the Council
Stacy Wolf, Professor of Theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts. Director, Princeton Arts Fellowship

Council Research Assistant:

Linsey N. Edwards, Graduate Student, Sociology Department.  Linsey’s research interests are in education, social inequality, race/ethnicity, gender, and neighborhoods/residential segregation.