Skip over navigation

Graduate Mentoring Award

The submission period ended on Monday, March 21, 2016.
We are no longer accepting nomination letters.
We invite you to nominate a member of the Princeton University faculty for the Graduate Mentoring Award. The McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning and the Graduate School sponsor this annual award to honor Princeton faculty members who are exemplary in supporting the development of their graduate students as teachers, scholars, and professionals. One faculty member in each academic division (humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering) will be selected to receive this honor, with recipients officially recognized at the Graduate School's Hooding Ceremony on the day before Commencement. 
The nomination letter should be limited to about one page (approximately 500 words) and should include: 
  • A description of the nature of your contact with the professor: that is, as a student in seminars, as an advisee, or as a teaching or research assistant. 
  • Descriptions and examples of how the professor is an exceptional adviser and mentor and the ways in which they have furthered your teaching, scholarly, or professional goals.
The strongest case for nominees is made through letters from a number of graduate students representing a range of graduate student/mentor relationships and containing specific examples of instances in which the faculty member demonstrated the qualities of a good mentor. Letters from individuals rather than single letters signed by multiple nominators (petition-style) are more effective in highlighting a mentor's contributions.  Please feel free to call the McGraw Center and talk to one of the directors to get more information on making a strong recommendation.
The Graduate Mentoring Award Committee, composed of graduate students, faculty, and the McGraw Center's directors, will select the winners. Please return nominations by Monday, March 21, to the McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning, 328 Frist Campus Center, or you may send nominations by e-mail to Please include your name, telephone number, and e-mail address in your letter.

Previous recipients of the Graduate Mentoring Award may be nominated again if five years have passed since they were last recognized.  Please consult the list of recipients below before nominating faculty candidates.

Award Recipients

  Janet Currie, Economics
  Michael Mueller, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  Imani Perry, African American Studies
  Daniel Sigman, Geosciences
  Robert Cava, Chemistry
  Sara McLanahan,  Woodrow Wilson School
  Jacqueline Stone and Stephen F. Teiser, Religion
  Sigurd Wagner, Engineering
  Alison Gammie, Molecular Biology
  Michael McAlpine, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  Gideon Rosen, Philosophy
  Viviana Zelizer, Sociology

João Biehl, Anthropology
  Caryl Emerson, Slavic Languages and Literatures
  Stacey A. Sinclair, Psychology
  Ramon van Handel, Operations Research and Financial Engineering

Michael Jennings, German
  Michael Gordin, History
  J. Nicole Shelton, Psychology
  Jennifer Rexford, Computer Science
  Sara Kay, French and Italian
  Igor Klebanov, Physics
  Stephen Kotkin, History
  Margaret Martonosi, Electrical Engineering

Susan Fiske, Psychology
  Claire Gmachl, Electrical Engineering
  Susan Naquin, History and East Asian Studies
  Jeffrey Stout, Religion

Robert Calderbank, Applied and Computational Math
  Richard Okada, East Asian Studies
  Richard Register, Chemical Engineering
  Mark Watson, Economics

Michael Cook, Near Eastern Studies
  Paul DiMaggio, Sociology
  Daniel Osherson, Psychology
  Christodoulos Floudas, Chemical Engineering

Charles Beitz, Politics
  Stefan Bernhard, Chemistry
  William Gleason, English
  Paul Prucnal, Electrical Engineering

Sanjeev Arora, Computer Science
  Edward Eigen, Architecture
  Noreen Goldman, Woodrow Wilson School
  John Krommes, Astrophysical Sciences

Philip Johnson-Laird, Psychology
  Niraj K. Jha, Electrical Engineering
  Robert Tignor, History
  Timothy P. Watson, English

John Cooper, Philosophy
  Luigi Martinelli, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  Thomas Silhavy, Molecular Biology
  Robert Wuthnow, Sociology
  Sara Curran, Sociology
  Barbara Hahn, Germanic Languages and Literatures
  Mansour Shayegan, Electrical Engineering
  Elias Stein, Mathematics