Search moves ahead

The process of selecting members for a committee to conduct the search for President Shapiro's successor is well under way only two weeks after he announced his decision to step down and return to the faculty at the end of this academic year.

The committee will consist of nine trustees, five faculty members, three students and one staff member. It will make a recommendation to the full Board of Trustees.

The trustee members of the committee were named immediately. Nominations for the faculty and staff members to serve on the search committee have been made and elections are under way.

Undergraduate Student Government President P.J. Kim has selected Lisa Lazarus, a junior majoring in the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, to join him in representing undergraduate students on the committee. Lauren Hale, chair of the Graduate Student Government, is the third student on the committee.

In addition, alumni have received a letter soliciting their comments and suggestions on the search. Once all its members are in place, the committee is expected to begin outreach efforts with members of the broader University community.

The faculty members will include one from each of the four academic divisions and one non-tenured member. The faculty Advisory Committee on Appointments and Advancements has provided nominations and the clerk of the faculty has contacted individuals to ascertain their willingness to serve. Ballots were scheduled to be distributed at the end of the week of Oct. 2. They are due back to the Office of the Clerk of the Faculty by noon Thursday, Oct. 12.

"We're on a fast track here and seeking an accelerated turnaround," said Dean of the Faculty Joseph Taylor. "I've sent an e-mail message to all faculty alerting them to look for the ballots in their mailboxes and return them promptly."

The faculty members nominated are:

• Humanities -- Mark Johnston, philosophy; Paul Lansky, music; Eileen Reeves, comparative literature; and John Wilmerding, art and archaeology.

Social sciences -- Laura Engelstein, history; Alan Krueger, economics; Daniel Rodgers, history; and Viviana Zelizer, sociology.

Natural sciences -- Ingrid Daubechies, mathematics; George McLendon, chemistry; George Philander, geosciences; and Shirley Tilghman, molecular biology.

Engineering -- Anthony Evans, mechanical and aerospace engineering; Edward Felten, computer science; Margaret Martonosi, electrical engineering; and James Sturm, electrical engineering.

Non-tenured -- Hans Peter Bunge, geosciences; Jeffrey Carbeck, chemical engineering; Esther da Costa Meyer, art and archaeology; and Andrew Isenberg, history.

The winners of the preference ballot in each category will be determined by the method of single transferable vote, where those casting the ballots will rank order the candidates in each category.

The Executive Committee of the Council of Princeton University Community has identified four staff members as candidates for the search committee. Ballots have been mailed to all staff members, who are being asked to rank order the candidates from one to four, with one being the first candidate of choice.

Staff ballots are to be returned to Barbara Spielman in the Office of Human Resources no later than Tuesday, Oct. 10. Here are the staff nominees:

Kathleen Deignan, dean of undergraduate students.

Stu Orefice, director of dining services.

Anu Rao, ombuds officer.

Ken Samuel, proctor in public safety.

In the letter to alumni, Trustee Robert Rawson Jr., chair of the board's executive committee and of the search committee, wrote, "One of the most important responsibilities of any board of trustees is to select an institution's president. Princeton has been blessed with a tradition of truly gifted leaders, and my colleagues on the board and I are determined to identify and attract the finest possible successor to President Shapiro."

He encouraged alumni to send their thoughts and suggestions to Thomas Wright, secretary of the University, who will serve as secretary of the search committee. Wright can be reached via: mail at 217 Nassau Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544; fax at (609) 258-0058; or e-mail at <>.

In addition to Rawson, Class of 1966, a partner in the law firm of Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue, the other trustee members of the search committee are: Brent Henry, Class of 1969, vice president and general counsel of the MedStar Healthcare Group; Dennis Keller, Class of 1963, chairman and chief executive officer of DeVry Inc. and DeVry University Inc.; Spencer Merriweather III, Class of 2000, legislative associate in the office of Congresswoman Eleanor Homes Norton; Heidi Miller, Class of 1974, chief financial officer at; Robert Murley, Class of 1972, vice chairman of Credit Suisse First Boston Corp.; Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Class of 1972, dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Miami; John Wynne, Class of 1967, president and chief executive officer of Landmark Communications; and Paul Wythes, Class of 1955, founding general partner of Sutter Hill Ventures in Palo Alto, Calif.

October 9, 2000
Vol. 90, No. 5
previous   archives   next


Wave of the future
Vivian Shapiro looks forward to the next chapter
Search moves ahead
New trustees named to board
Alliance with Yale, Stanford, Oxford paves the way for life-long learning
Research heats up in Princeton Materials Institute
Alumnus strings together ideas to explain physics
QRL archives a treasure
Pre-game lectures kick off Oct. 14
Gridders honored as scholar-athletes

Spotlight / People
Calendar of events
Nassau notes

The Bulletin is published weekly during the academic year, except during University breaks and exam weeks, by the Office of Communications, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544. Permission is given to adapt, reprint or excerpt material from the Bulletin for use in other media.

Deadline. In general, the copy deadline for each issue is the Friday 10 days in advance of the Monday cover date. The deadline for the Bulletin that covers Oct. 23-Nov. 5 is Friday, Oct. 13. A complete publication schedule is available at deadlines or by calling (609) 258-3601.

Subscriptions. The Bulletin is distributed free to faculty, staff and students. Others may subscribe to the Bulletin for $24 for the academic year (half price for current Princeton parents and people over 65). Send a check to Office of Communications, Stanhope Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544.

Editor: Ruth Stevens
Staff writer: Yvonne Chiu Hays
Calendar editor: Carolyn Geller
Contributing writers: Marilyn Marks, Steven Schultz
Photographer: Denise Applewhite
Design: Mahlon Lovett
Laurel Masten Cantor
Web edition: Mahlon Lovett