B Y   T H E   N U M B E R S

Nobel Prize winners

Eight members of the current Princeton faculty and research staff are recipients of the Nobel Prize:

Philip Anderson, the Joseph Henry Professor of Physics Emeritus, won the Nobel Prize in physics in 1977.

Val Fitch, the James McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics Emeritus, won the Nobel Prize in physics in 1980.

Chloe Anthony Morrison, the Robert Goheen Professor in the Humanities, won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1993.

• Dean of the Faculty Joseph Taylor, the James McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics, shared the Nobel Prize in physics in 1993 with Russell Hulse, principal research physicist at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory.

John Nash, senior research mathematician, won the 1994 Nobel Prize in economic sciences.

Eric Wieschaus, the Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology, won the 1995 Nobel Prize in medicine.

Daniel Tsui, the Arthur Legrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering, won the 1998 Nobel Prize in physics.


October 22, 2001
Vol. 91, No. 7
previous   archives   next


What drives moral decision-making?
Princeton-designed satellite probing radiation 1 million miles from Earth

Longtime philosophy professor was leading figure in field
Wilson to resign as Graduate School dean
Nobel winners have Princeton ties

Benefits update

By the numbers
Nassau Notes
Calendar of events

The Bulletin is published weekly during the academic year, except during University breaks and exam weeks, by the Office of Communications, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544. Permission is given to adapt, reprint or excerpt material from the Bulletin for use in other media.

Deadlines. In general, the copy deadline for each issue is the Friday 10 days in advance of the Monday cover date. The deadline for the Bulletin that covers Nov. 5&endash;11 is Friday, Oct. 26. A complete publication schedule is available at deadlines or by calling (609) 258-3601.
Subscriptions. The Bulletin is distributed free to faculty, staff and students. Others may subscribe to the Bulletin for $28 for the academic year (half price for current Princeton parents and people over 65). Send a check to Office of Communications, Stanhope Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544.

Editor: Ruth Stevens
Calendar editor: Carolyn Geller
Staff writers: Jennifer Greenstein Altmann, Steven Schultz
Contributing writers: Marilyn Marks
Photographer: Denise Applewhite
Design: Mahlon Lovett, Laurel Masten Cantor
Web edition: Mahlon Lovett