President Tilghman was among 150 women leaders who gathered in Washington, D.C., May 3 for the inaugural National Women's Leadership Summit.
    An initiative of The White House Project, the summit brought together women from business, sports, philanthropy, academia, law, labor, communications and the public sector to chart a new course for expanding women's leadership. Other participants included playwright Eve Ensler, Ford Foundation president Susan Berresford, scientist and former astronaut Mae Jemison and Dina Dublon, chief financial officer of J.P. Morgan Chase.
    The conference leaders, Marie Wilson, president of The White House Project, and Heidi Miller, executive vice president of Bank One, led the top-level participants in examining issues facing women's leadership today, including "Where We Stand," "How to Get to the Tipping Point" of women's leadership, "Changing the Culture" and "Choosing to Lead."
    "Women's leadership is at a critical juncture -- we could either fall behind our current pace of progress or be poised for a quantum leap forward," Wilson said. "The goal is to broaden and deepen women's leadership in every sector and to set a new strategic agenda for that endeavor."
    The White House Project is a national, nonpartisan organization dedicated to advancing women's leadership in all spheres, including the U.S. presidency.

Joyce Carol Oates
has been selected by the Tulsa Library Trust as the recipient of the 2002 Peggy Helmerich Distinguished Author Award. She will receive a $25,000 cash prize and an engraved crystal book. The award will be presented in Tulsa in December.
    Oates, the Roger Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities, has written many novels, including the recent "Faithless: Tales of Transgression" (2001). She also has written poetry, drama and literary criticism.
    The library trust has given out the Helmerich award annually since 1985. Past winners include Toni Morrison, the Goheen Professor in the Humanities, as well as Margaret Atwood, John Hope Franklin, Oliver Sacks, Norman Mailer, Neil Simon and Eudora Welty. 

Three Princeton faculty
members are among the 184 artists, scholars and scientists who received a 2002 Guggenheim Fellowship, an honor that recognizes exceptional achievement and supports promising projects.
    Each Guggenheim Fellow will receive a grant to support his or her work. The average grant for 2002 was $36,685.
    The Princeton professors and their proposed projects are:

Peter Lake, professor of history, for research on "Dynastic Crises, Confessional Politics and Conspiracy Theory in Post-Reformation England."

Vincent Poor, professor of electrical engineering, for research on "Quantum Multi-User Communications."

Howard Rosenthal, the Roger Williams Straus Professor of Social Sciences and professor of politics, for research on "Empirical Tests of Theories of the Legislative Process."

The Guggenheim Foundation, which awards the fellowships, selected this year's recipients from among more than 2,800 applicants for awards totaling $6,750,000.

May 20, 2002
Vol. 92, No. 27
previous   archives   next


President Tilghman's first year
Thriving in the presidency
For Tilghman, there's a science to thre presidency
President enjoys making things happen whether big or small

Page one
Stein chosen to receive National Medal of Science
Anne-Marie Slaughter named Woodrow Wilson School dean

Math analysis could aid flu vaccine selection
There's nothing like mom's cooking
Universitywide public events calendar launched on Web
Keeping it short: Richardson distills wit in aphorisms
Book marks 50th year of Forrestal Campus

People, spotlight, briefs
Three named Goldwater Scholars

Nassau Notes
By the numbers
Calendar of events

The Bulletin is published weekly during the academic year, except during University breaks and exam weeks, by the Office of Communications. Second class postage paid at Princeton. Permission is given to adapt, reprint or excerpt material from the Bulletin for use in other media.

Deadline. In general, the copy deadline for each issue is the Friday 10 days in advance of the Monday cover date. The deadline for the Bulletin that covers June 3-16 is Friday, May 24. A complete publication schedule is available at deadlines or by calling (609) 258-3601.

Subscriptions. The Bulletin is distributed free to faculty, staff and students. Others may subscribe to the Bulletin for $14 for the spring term (half price for current Princeton parents and people over 65). Send a check to Office of Communications, Stanhope Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544.

Editor: Ruth Stevens
Calendar editor: Carolyn Geller
Staff writers: Jennifer Greenstein Altmann, Steven Schultz
Contributing writers: Marilyn Marks, Evelyn Tu
Photographer: Denise Applewhite
Design: Mahlon Lovett, Laurel Masten Cantor, Megan Peterson
Web edition: Mahlon Lovett

top     back     home