Skip over navigation

Administrators at Princeton


Christopher L. Eisgruber is charged with the general supervision of the University. He presides over meetings of the Board of Trustees, the Council of the Princeton University Community (CPUC) and the faculty. He represents the University to off-campus groups, including alumni, government agencies, foundations and educational associations. President Eisgruber is the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School and the University Center for Human Values.


Deborah A. Prentice serves as the president's general deputy. As provost, she is the second-ranking academic officer of the University, with responsibility for all aspects of academic and nonacademic planning. As chief budgetary officer, she chairs the Priorities Committee, which prepares budget recommendations annually. She oversees long-term financial planning and the operation of a variety of facilities, among them the libraries and the art museum. Provost Prentice is the Alexander Stewart 1886 Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs.

Dean of the Faculty

Sanjeev Kulkarni oversees academic departments and programs and all matters pertaining to the well-being of the faculty, professional librarians, professional researchers and professional specialists. Dean Kulkarni is the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Electrical Engineering.

Dean of the College

Jill S. Dolan has administrative responsibility for all aspects of undergraduate academic life, from admission to Commencement. She oversees admission and financial aid policies, the undergraduate curriculum, academic standing and academic advising. Her office also oversees the residential colleges, the McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning, the Writing Program, the Office of Undergraduate Research, the Office of International Programs, the Freshman Scholars Institute, the Scholars Institute Fellows Program and the Program in Teacher Preparation. Dean Dolan is the Annan Professor in English and a professor of theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts.

Vice President for Campus Life

W. Rochelle Calhoun has administrative oversight for matters that shape the student experience at Princeton. Vice President Calhoun oversees the Office of the Dean of Undergraduate Students, athletics and campus recreation, career services, health services, religious life and the Pace Center for Civic Engagement. Her office also oversees the Carl A. Fields Center for Equality and Cultural Understanding, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Center, and the Women’s Center.

Dean of Undergraduate Students

Kathleen Deignan has oversight responsibility for undergraduate residential life, University centers and student organizations, and is also responsible for matters relating to crisis and emergency management and the conduct and discipline of undergraduates.