Skip over navigation

Academic Life

Princeton University is unique in the way it combines the strengths of a major research university with the qualities of an outstanding liberal arts college. With a student-faculty ratio of 5 to 1, Princeton excels in its commitment to teaching and provides learning opportunities both within and outside of the classroom. Whether through independent study, student-initiated seminars or lectures in emerging fields such as neuroscience, Princeton students have the flexibility to shape dynamic academic programs that prepare them for leadership and lives of service.

The Faculty

In spring 2016, the faculty (including visitors and part-time faculty) totaled 1,238, including 499 professors, 101 associate professors, 175 assistant professors, 15 instructors, 325 lecturers and 123 visitors.

Seventy-seven percent of the professorial faculty is tenured. Excluding visitors, 384 members of the faculty are women, and 258 are identified as members of minority groups. There were 157 tenured women on the faculty in spring 2016.

Approximately 53 percent of Princeton’s tenured faculty members were promoted to tenure while at Princeton; the others were hired with tenure from other institutions.

All faculty members at Princeton are expected to teach, as well as engage in research. Faculty members work closely with undergraduates in the supervision of junior-year independent work and senior theses.

Ten members of the current Princeton faculty (including emeritus) are recipients of the Nobel Prize:

Faculty member Nobel Year
Philip W. Anderson, emeritus physics 1977
Toni Morrison, emeritus literature 1993
Joseph H. Taylor, emeritus physics 1993
Eric F. Wieschaus physiology/medicine 1995
Daniel C. Tsui, emeritus physics 1998
Daniel Kahneman, emeritus economics 2002
David J. Gross, emeritus physics 2004
Paul Krugman, emeritus economics 2008
Christopher Sims economics 2011
Angus Deaton, emeritus economics 2015
F. Duncan Haldane physics 2016

Also, Princeton faculty and staff members are frequently named MacArthur Fellows and receive other notable awards in their fields.