Program
Courses
Languages
People
Events
Contacts
Links
 
 

Events
 

Spring 2016 Speaker Series

Thursday, February 25
Migrant Dubai: South Asian Lives in an Arab Global City
Laavanya Kathiravelu, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; 2015-16 Fung Fellow
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, March 3
When Saints Became Kings: The Case of Mashhad and Ajmer
Azfar Moin, University of Texas
219 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, March 10
The Indian Heroes in Heaven and on Earth: “Sons of gods” in the Sanskrit Epics and in the Buddhist Canon
Yaroslav Vassilkov, Russian Academy of Sciences
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, March 24
Desecularization in Indian Intellectual Culture, 900-1300 AD
Lawrence McCrea, Cornell University
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, April 21
The Minority in Question: Marginalia on the Indian Political
Vazira Zamindar, Brown University
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

April 29-30, 2016
Graduate Student Conference
The Natural Worlds of South Asia
219 Aaron Burr Hall
9:00 a.m.

 

Fall 2015 Speaker Series

Thursday, September 24
Elementary, My Dear Hardless!  Race, Detectives and Forensic Science in British India
Projit Mukharji, University of Pennsylvania
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, October 8
Places in My Heart
Mohammed Hanif, Pakistani journalist and novelist
Friend Center, Rm. 008
4:30 pm

Thursday, October 22
Dreams and Revolution: The Past, Present and the Future of the Maoist Insurgency in India
Rahul Pandita, journalist and author based in Delhi
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, November 12
The Gujarat Model Revisited
Christophe Jaffrelot, CNRS & Sciences Po (France); Princeton Global Scholar
219 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, November 19
An Intimate Market: State, Space and Capital in Colonial Delhi, 1860-1947
Anish Vanaik, Purdue University
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Thursday, December 3
The Imperial Frontier: Rule Along the Edge of Empire
Benjamin D. Hopkins, George Washington University
216 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Other events:

Thursday, September 24
Film screening, Bombay Velvet
Princeton Garden Theater, 160 Nassau Street
7:30 p.m. (reception 7:00 p.m.)

Saturday, September 26
Hindi-Urdu Pedagogy Workshop, Teaching Hindi and Urdu Together: Challenges and Contextual Best-Practices (by invitation only)
219 Aaron Burr Hall
9:00 a.m.

Thursday, October 1
Panjab Digital Library: Access to Panjabi Heritage Beyond Time and Space
Nadhra Khan, Lahore University of Management Sciences
Harinder Singh, co-founder, Panjab Digital Library; CEO, Sikh Research Institute
219 Aaron Burr Hall
Noon

Friday, November 20
Workshop, Sectarianism in South Asian Islam
Organizer:  Christophe Jaffrelot, CNRS & Sciences Po (France); Princeton Global Scholar
219 Aaron Burr Hall
9:00 a.m.

Friday, December 4
Hindi-Urdu Conference, History, Memory, Longing
219 Aaron Burr Hall
9:00 a.m.

Events Archive

 
 
Back to Home Page Princeton University Home