Skip over navigation

University Administrators


Shirley M. Tilghman, Ph.D.


Christopher L. Eisgruber, J.D., M.Litt.

Dean of the Faculty

David P. Dobkin, Ph.D.

Dean of the College

Nancy Weiss Malkiel, Ph.D.

Dean of the Graduate School

William B. Russel, Ph.D.

Dean for Research

A. J. Stewart Smith, Ph.D.

Vice President for Campus Life

Cynthia Cherrey, Ph.D.

Dean of Undergraduate Students

Kathleen Deignan, M.S.

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science

H. Vincent Poor, Ph.D.

Dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs

Christina H. Paxson, Ph.D.

Dean of the School of Architecture

Stanley T. Allen, M.Arch.

Dean of Religious Life and the Chapel

Alison L. Boden, Ph.D., M.Div.


Polly Winfrey Griffin, M.S.

University Librarian

Karin A. Trainer, M.A., M.S.

Dean of Admission

Janet Lavin Rapelye, M.A.

Director of Undergraduate Financial Aid

Robin A. Moscato, B.A.

Executive Director of University Health Services

John Kolligian, Ph.D.

Director of Athletics

Gary D. Walters, B.A.

The provost is the general deputy of the president.

The dean of the faculty has administrative oversight of departments and programs of instruction and is responsible for the effectiveness and well-being of all ranks of the faculty.

The dean of the college is responsible for the undergraduate academic program, including the curriculum, academic advising, academic regulations, and scholastic standing. The dean also has oversight responsibility for offices and services that promote the academic development of undergraduates, as well as for the residential college system.

The vice president for campus life has oversight responsibility for the dean of undergraduate students, and for athletics, career services, health services, religious life, and the Pace Center.

The dean of undergraduate students has oversight responsibility for undergraduate residential life, University centers, and student organizations, and is also responsible for matters relating to the conduct and discipline of undergraduates.

The main University website has more detailed information on University governance.