Art of Science 2009 Gallery

About | Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | CAST YOUR VOTES
Study the science of art and the art of science.
--Leonardo da Vinci

The Art of Science exhibition explores the interplay between science and art. These practices both involve the pursuit of those moments of discovery when what you perceive suddenly becomes more than the sum of its parts. Each piece in this exhibition is, in its own way, a record of such a moment.

This is the third Art of Science competition hosted by Princeton University. The 2009 competition drew more than 200 submissions from 16 departments. The exhibit includes work by undergraduates, faculty, research staff, graduate students, and alumni.

The 48 works chosen for the 2009 Art of Science exhibition represent this year’s theme of "found art." These extraordinary images are not art for art’s sake. Rather, they were produced during the course of scientific research. Entries were chosen for their aesthetic excellence as well as scientific or technical interest.

We thank all those who submitted their work to this year’s competition. We are inspired by the breadth of their creativity as expressed both in their scientific research and in the artistic fruits of that research.

We are grateful to our sponsors, without whose support this competition could not have taken place: Office of the President Office of the Dean of the Faculty School of Engineering and Applied Science Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory Lewis Center for the Arts Center for Information Technology Policy Office of Printing and Mailing

Special thanks also to our distinguished panel of judges: David Dobkin, Dean of the Faculty; Emmet Gowin, Professor of Visual Arts; Paul Muldoon, Chair of the Lewis Center for the Arts; and Shirley M. Tilghman, President.

Thanks also to the many volunteers who contributed to this massive effort: Marguerite d'Aprile-Smith, Luis Armas, Elliott Chenoweth, Zennen Clifton, Fanny Chouinard, Greg Czechowicz, Michael DeAngelis, John DeLooper, Bentley Drezner, Jim Elbrecht, Chris Emery, Karla Ewalt, Carlos Fernandez, Linda Geraci, Meg Holland, Nikola Knipe, Lorene Lavora, Christine Lian, Eric Litostansky, Michael Littman, Peter Lubell-Doughtie, James Morgan, Emily Margolis, Clayton Marsh, Anca Niculin, Erik Perry, Eric Quinones, David Robinson, Leona Rosso-Dzugan, Matt Salganik, Adam Sanders, Steven Schultz, Ruth Stevens, Annette Tate, Susan Trappanese, Evelyn Tu, Josh Weinstein, Patti Wieser and Bill Zeller.

-- 2009 Art of Science organizers: Andrew Zwicker, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory; Adam Finkelstein, Department of Computer Science; Teresa Riordan, School of Engineering and Applied Science; and Elle Starkman, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. We are also grateful for the help and advice of the founding members organizers from 2005 and 2006: Andrew Moore, Alex Halderman, Kati Lovasz, Adam Finkelstein, Jonathan Harris and Perry Cook.

About | 2009 Gallery | 2006 Gallery | 2005 Gallery | Press | Contact

Design by Jonathan Harris and Grady Klein.